A-Ma Temple already existed before the...
A-Ma Temple already existed before the city of Macao came into being. It consists of the Gate Pavilion, the Memorial Arch, the Prayer Hall, the Hall of Benevolence, the Hall of Guanyin, and Zhengjiao Chanlin (a Buddhist pavilion). The variety of pavilions dedicated to the worship of different deities in a single complex make A-Ma Temple an exemplary representation of Chinese culture inspired by Confucianism, Taoism, Buddhism and multiple folk beliefs.
Address: Barra SquareOpening hours: 7 a.m. - 6 p.m.
Built in 1874, this building was const...
Built in 1874, this building was constructed to accommodate an Indian regiment from Goa appointed to reinforce Macao's police force. Now it serves as the headquarters of the Marine and Water Bureau. The Moorish Barracks is a distinctly neo-classical building integrating architectural elements of Moghul influence.
Address: Calçada da BarraOpening hours: Verandah: 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
The ground water of Lilau used to be t...
The ground water of Lilau used to be the main source of natural spring water in Macao. The Portuguese popular phrase: "One who drinks from Lilau never forgets Macao" expresses the locals' nostalgic attachment to Lilau Square. This area corresponds to one of the first Portuguese residential quarters in Macao.
Address: Lilau Square
Built before 1869, this was the tradit...
Built before 1869, this was the traditional Chinese residential compound home of prominent Chinese literary figure Zheng Guanying. It is a traditional Chinese compound consisting of several courtyard houses, displaying a mix of Chinese and Western detailing, such as the use of grey bricks against arched ornamentations and Chinese timber lattice windows against mother-of-pearl window panels of Indian origin.
Address: No 10, Travessa de António da Silva, Macau Opening Hours: 10:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. (No admission after 5.30 p.m., closed on Wednesdays, except public holidays)Free entranceTel: +853 2896 8820Website: http://www.wh.mo/mandarinhouseGuided tours (in Cantonese) are offered at a fixed schedule on Saturdays and Sundays and online reservation is required
Built by the Jesuits in the mid-16th c...
Built by the Jesuits in the mid-16th century, this is one of the three oldest churches in Macao. Its present appearance and scale was acquired in 1846. Situated on the southern coastline of Macao overlooking the sea, families of Portuguese sailors used to gather on the front steps of the church to pray and wait for their return, hence it was given the name: Feng Shun Tang (Hall of the Soothing Winds). The neighbourhood where the church is located used to be fairly wealthy, thus explaining the building's scale and wealth of architectural treatment. It is a neo-classical structure, with subtle Baroque decorative inspirations.
Address: Rua de São Lourenço (access from Rua Da Imprensa Nacional)Opening hours: 7 a.m. - 9 p.m.
Established in 1728, the old Seminary,...
Established in 1728, the old Seminary, together with St. Paul's College, was the principal base for the missionary work implemented in China, Japan and around the region. St. Joseph's Seminary taught an academic curriculum equivalent to that of a university and in 1800 the Portuguese Queen Dona Maria I conferred on it the royal title of "House of the Mission Congregation". Adjacent to the Seminary is St. Joseph's Church, built in 1758, an exemplary model of baroque architecture in China, as noted in UNESCO's 2001 publication Atlas mundial de la arquitectura barroca.
Address: Rua do SeminárioOpening hours: Church: 9 a.m. - 6 p.m. (Seminary not open to the public)
St. Augustine's Square gathers various...
St. Augustine's Square gathers various classified buildings, such as St. Augustine's Church, Dom Pedro V Theatre, St. Joseph's Seminary and Sir Robert Ho Tung Library. The cobblestone pavement unifies the area and reflects a traditionally Portuguese streetscape.
Address: St. Augustine's Square
Built in 1860 as the first western-sty...
Built in 1860 as the first western-style theatre in China with a seating capacity of 300, this has survived as a highly significant cultural landmark in the context of the local Macanese community and remains a venue for important public events and celebrations.
Address: Santo Agostinho SquareOpening hours: 10 a.m. - 6 p.m. (Closed on Tuesdays; open on public holidays)
This building was constructed before 1...
This building was constructed before 1894 and was originally the residence of Dona Carolina Cunha. Hong Kong businessman Sir Robert Ho Tung purchased it in 1918, using it as his retreat. He passed away in 1955 and in accordance with his will, the building was presented to the Macao Government for conversion into a public library.
Address: No. 3 Santo Agostinho SquareOpening hours: 10 a.m. to 7 p.m. (Monday to Saturday); 11 a.m. to 7 p.m. (Sunday)
First established by Spanish Augustini...
First established by Spanish Augustinians in 1591, this church maintains the tradition of organizing one of the most popular processions through the city, the Easter Procession, involving thousands of devotees. In times past, during heavy rain, the priests used to reinforce the rooftop with fan palm leaves. Seen from afar, these leaves appeared to be dragon's whiskers floating in the wind, hence the local Chinese named it Long Song Miu (Temple of the Long-whiskered Dragon).
Address: No.2 Santo Agostinho SquareOpening hours: 10 a.m. to 6 p.m.
Originally built in 1784, this was Mac...
Originally built in 1784, this was Macao's first municipal chamber, a function it maintains to the present. The name "Leal Senado" ("Loyal Senate") derives from the title "City of Our Name of God Macao, There is None More Loyal" which was bestowed by Portuguese King Dom John IV in 1654. The "Leal Senado" Building is neo-classical in design and has retained all its original master walls and primary layout, including the courtyard garden in the back. Inside the building on the first floor there is a ceremonial meeting room that opens onto an elaborate carved library styled after the library of Mafra Convent in Portugal, and a small chapel.
Address: No. 163 Av. Almeida Ribeiro (San Ma Lo)Opening hours: Gallery: 9 a.m. to 9 p.m. (closed on Mondays, open on public holidays), Garden: 9 a.m. to 9 p.m.
Senado Square has been Macao's urban c...
Senado Square has been Macao's urban centre for centuries, and is still the most popular venue for public events and celebrations today. Located close to the former Senate building, Sam Kai Vui Kun ( Kuan Tai Temple ) is also a reminder of the active participation of the local Chinese community in general civic affairs, providing a clear example of the multicultural dimension of the Macao community. The square is surrounded by pastel coloured neo-classical buildings, creating a consistent and harmonious Mediterranean atmosphere.
Address: Senado Square
This temple is located close to the ol...
This temple is located close to the old Chinese Bazaar area, which nowadays functions as St. Dominic's Market, still keeping the essence of the original function of the area. The location of this Chinese construction at the heart of the main city square with its predominantly western-style architecture illustrates the harmonious coexistence of the two cultures. This temple is directly associated with long-standing Chinese business associations, precursors to the Chinese Chamber of Commerce in the city.
Address: Rua Sul do Mercado de São DomingosOpening hours: 9 a.m. - 6 p.m.
Established by the first Bishop of Mac...
Established by the first Bishop of Macao in 1569, this institution was modelled after one of the most prominent and oldest charitable organizations in Portugal, and was responsible for founding in Macao the first western-style medical clinic and several other social welfare structures that still function to this day. The building is neo-classical in the overall architectural treatment, but also depicts traces of mannerist influence.
Address: Senado Square Opening hours (Museum): 10 a.m. - 1 p.m., 2:30 p.m. - 5:30 p.m. (closed on Mondays and public holidays)Admission Fee (Museum): MOP5; students and elderly people (over 65 years old): free.
Built around 1622, the Cathedral was o...
Built around 1622, the Cathedral was originally constructed with taipa (compound material consisting soil and straw). During the restoration of 1780, the religious services of the Cathedral were temporarily transferred to the old chapel of the Holy House of Mercy. The facade is characterized by pilasters and the twin belfries that stand out on the streetscape. The exterior is clad in Shanghai plaster, giving the church a monolithic subdued appearance.
Address: No.1 Cathedral SquareOpening hours: 9:30 a.m. - 6:00 p.m
The mansion is believed to be built in...
The mansion is believed to be built in 1889.This was the home of Lou Kau, a prominent Chinese merchant who owned several imposing properties in the city. The location of this grand old house depicts the diverse social profile present in the centre of the old "Christian City", where this traditional Chinese residence stands near Senado Square and Cathedral Square. Lou Kau Mansion is a two-storey, traditional grey-brick courtyard house, with the architectural characteristics of a typical Xiguan Chinese residential building.
Address: No.7, Travessa da SéOpening hours: 10 a.m. - 6 p.m., no admission after 5.30 p.m. (Closed on Mondays, except public holidays)
Founded in 1587 by three Spanish Domin...
Founded in 1587 by three Spanish Dominican priests who originally came from Acapulco in Mexico, this church is also connected to the Brotherhood of Our Lady of the Rosary. It was here that the first Portuguese newspaper was published on Chinese soil, A Abelha da China ("The China Bee"), on 12th September 1822. The bell tower, at the back of the building, has been modified into a small Museum of Sacred Art, now exhibiting a collection of around 300 artifacts.
Address: St. Dominic's SquareOpening hours: 10 a.m. - 6 p.m.
The Ruins of St. Paul's refer to the f...
The Ruins of St. Paul's refer to the facade of what was originally the Church of Mater Dei built in 1602-1640, destroyed by fire in 1835, and the ruins of St. Paul's College, which stood adjacent to the Church. As a whole, the old Church of Mater Dei, St. Paul's College and Mount Fortress were all Jesuit constructions and formed what can be perceived as the Macao's "acropolis". Close by, the archaeological remains of the old College of St. Paul stand witness to what was the first western-style university in the Far East, with an elaborate academic programme. Nowadays, the facade of the Ruins of St. Paul's functions symbolically as an altar to the city.
Address: Company of Jesus SquareOpening hours: Museum of Sacred Art and Crypt: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. daily (except Tuesday afternoon), no admission after 5:30 p.m. (Tuesdays: closed after 2 p.m. Open as usual on public holidays). Ruins of St Paul's: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m., no admission after 5:30 p.m.
Built in 1888, this temple is dedicate...
Built in 1888, this temple is dedicated to the worship of Na Tcha. This small traditional Chinese temple stands close to the remains of the principal Jesuit enterprise of the region, presenting a dialectic of western and Chinese ideals, as one of the best examples of Macao's multicultural identity and religious freedom.
Address: No. 6 Calçada de S. Paulo (next to Ruins of St. Paul’s) Opening hours: 8 a.m. - 5 p.m.
Na Tcha Exhibition RoomOpening hours: 10 a.m. - 6 p.m., no admission after 5.30 p.m. (Closed on Wednesdays, open on public holidays)
This surviving segment of the city's d...
This surviving segment of the city's defence structures, built as early as 1569, is a remnant of an early Portuguese tradition of constructing defensive walls around their port settlements, done also in Africa and India. In Macao, this section bears testimony to the incorporation of local techniques and materials, especially a solid compound named chunambo, an elaborate mixture of clay, soil, sand, rice straw, crushed rocks and oyster shells compacted in successive layers.
Built in conjunction with the Jesuits ...
Built in conjunction with the Jesuits from 1617 to 1626, this was the city's principal military defence structure. The fortress was equipped with cannons, military barracks, wells and an arsenal that held sufficient ammunition and supplies to endure a siege lasting up to two years. The fortress covers an area of 10,000 square metres, in the shape of a trapezoid. The four corners of the fortress protrude to form bulwarks.
Opening hours: Fortress and garden: 7 a.m. - 7 p.m.Macao Museum: 10 a.m. - 6 p.m., last admission until 5:30 p.m. (Closed on Mondays, open on public holidays)
First built of bamboo and wood before ...
First built of bamboo and wood before 1560, this is one of the oldest churches in Macao, also marking the site where the Jesuits set up their earliest headquarters in the city. The church was reconstructed in stone several times, while the present appearance and scale of the church dates back to 1930. Previously, members of the Portuguese community would hold wedding ceremonies there, so giving rise to the Chinese name of Fa Vong Tong (Church of Flowers).
Address: Santo António SquareOpening hours: 9:00 a.m. - 5:30 p.m.
This house was built in 1770 and was o...
This house was built in 1770 and was originally the residence of a wealthy Portuguese merchant, Manuel Pereira. At a later period it was rented out to the East India Company. Nowadays the property is the headquarters of the Oriental Foundation.
Address: Beside Camões SquareOpening hours: Gallery: 9:30 a.m. - 6 p.m. (closed on Saturdays, Sundays and public Holidays); Garden: 9:30 a.m. - 6 p.m.
This site provides an insight into Mac...
This site provides an insight into Macao's diverse community profile. Located close to the Casa Garden, the Protestant Cemetery provides a comprehensive record of the earliest Protestant community of Macao. Together with the site, the chapel was built in 1821, which is now referred to as "the Morrison Chapel" in honour of Robert Morrison (1782-1834). George Chinnery (1774-1852) an important British China-trade artist is also buried at the site, alongside various other prominent figures of the time, including several officials from the East India Company, and Protestants from the United States and Britain.
Address: Beside Casa GardenOpening hours: 8:30 a.m. - 5:30 p.m.
The fortress was built between 1622 an...
The fortress was built between 1622 and 1638. Inside the fortress stands Guia Chapel, originally established by Clarist nuns, who resided at the site before establishing the Convent of St. Clare. The chapel's elaborate frescoes depict representations of both western and Chinese themes, displaying motifs of religious and mythological inspiration that are a perfect example of Macao's multicultural dimension. Guia Lighthouse, dating from 1865, which also stands within the perimeter, is the first modern lighthouse on the Chinese coast. Guia Fortress, along with the chapel and lighthouse are symbols of Macao's maritime, military and missionary past.
Opening hours: Fortress: 9 a.m. - 6 p.m. Chapel: 10 a.m. - 5 p.m. (no photographs allowed)Lighthouse: not open to the public
The Macao Museum is a historical and c...
The Macao Museum is a historical and cultural museum with a vast number of objects of great historical value, which demonstrates the way of life and cultures of the various communities which have been inhabited the city for ages.
The first floor is a short and comparative presentation of the way western and Chinese civilizations were developed before the arrival of the Portuguese in the Pearl River Delta in the 16th century. Besides, history of Macao, commercial activities, religions and cultures of the two civilizations are also displayed. Mounting the stairs to the second floor, visitors have the opportunity to come into contact with different aspects of the popular art and traditions of Macao; such as people's daily lives, entertainment, religious ceremonies and traditional festivals. The third floor shows contemporary Macao including the characteristic aspects of city life. The way Macao has been portrayed in literature and the arts is prominently highlighted.
The Macao Museum is located in the Mount Fortress, which was built by the Jesuits in the early 17th century. For a long time, the Fortress was the city's principal military defence structure where public access was restricted. In 1965 this Fortress was converted into the Meteorological Services and later opened to the public. Built on top of the Mount Hill, the Mount Fortress offers a panoramic view of the city. On its west is the Ruins of St. Paul's. On 15th July 2005, the Historic Centre of Macao was officially listed as UNESCO World Cultural Heritage. The Mount Fortress and the Ruins of St. Paul's are significant historical monuments of the Centre.
The Macao Museum was opened on 18th April 1998, consisting of two underground levels and a third one above the fortress' top platform where the old Meteorological Services is housed. The architectural character and special configuration of the architecture has been retained and preserved.
Address: No. 112 Praceta do Museu de MacauOpening hours: 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. (Ticket booth closes at 5:30 p.m.) Closed on Mondays, open on public holidays.Admission: Adults - MOP15; student card holders - MOP8; Macao ID cardholders, children of 12 years old or under, seniors of 65 years old or above and schools and non-profit associations (application submitted 7 working days in advance): Free. Free entry to the public on Tuesdays and the 15th of each month. For details, please visit http://www.macaumuseum.gov.moTel: +853 2835 7911Fax: +853 2835 8503E-mail: firstname.lastname@example.orgWebsite: http://www.macaumuseum.gov.moAdditional information: The Museum includes a shop, a café, Mount Fortress Gallery and Mount Fortress Garden.
If the history of Macao is really conn...
If the history of Macao is really connected to the sea, there is no better place for the Maritime Museum, than the Square of the Barra Pagoda, dedicated to the Taoist goddess "A-MA", the protector of fishermen, and also believed to be the place where the Portuguese first landed. The precise spot is where the Maritime Museum is located, the building is in the shape of a sailing ship anchored in the waters of the Inner Harbour.On the ground floor the visitor can see the traditions and the way of life of the fishermen in Macao and South China: there are several types of ships, instruments and methods of fishing, different varieties of fish and shellfish living in these waters and even a copy of a fisherman's house, where the whole family can be seen sharing the tasks which precede or follow fishing activities.The visitor should note the "Little A-Ma Theatre" which tells the legend of this Goddess in Cantonese, Mandarin, Portuguese and English.The first floor is dedicated exclusively to the Great Discovery, emphasising the Maritime History of China and Portugal, since it was the sea, which brought these two civilisations together. The trips of Admiral Cheng He are shown in interactively displays. During the Ming dynasty (15th century) Cheng He charted India and Arabia from the sea and reached the Eastern coast of Africa. The routes of the Portuguese Discoveries of the 15th and 16th centuries are also presented, together with samples of the products traded from that period: tea, spices...The second floor is dedicated to Maritime Technology and Transport and it illustrates the way Macao has been connected to the sea. Several traditional tools can be observed along side models of the latest ships, for example the jetfoils that nowadays link Macao to Hong Kong. Special attention should be given to the monitor that enables the visitor to learn about Macao's weather, particularly during the typhoon season when the formation of these tropical storms can be observed and tracked. In addition, visitors can view a sky over the Northern Hemisphere, demonstrating the importance of astronomy in navigation. Through interactions a visitor can find different constellations, including the one representing him/herself.On the way out the visitor will cross a gallery of aquariums showing a riverbed, the harbour waters, a coral reef and last of all the seabed with the remains if an ancient shipwreck. Outside of the museum the visitor will find several real size exhibits, among which a dragon-boat similar to those raced during the Dragon Boat Festival. Address: Largo do Pagode da Barra, no. 1, MacaoOpening hours: From 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. (Last admission at 5:30 p.m.). Closed on Tuesdays.Admission: 10 to 17: MOP5 (Monday to Saturday) and MOP3 (Sunday); 18 to 64: MOP10 (Monday to Saturday) and MOP5 (Sunday); holder of valid Macao Resident Identity Card, children under 10 and seniors of 65 or above: Free. For details, please visit: http://www.museumaritimo.gov.moTel: +853 2859 5481 Fax: +853 2851 2160E-mail: email@example.comWebsite: http://www.museumaritimo.gov.moRemarks: The Museum includes a nice esplanade by the river with a bar, open from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. (Closed on Tuesdays). On the ground floor of the Museum there is a shop selling souvenirs and books about the city of Macao, maps, etc.
* To cope with the "Grand Prix Mu...
* To cope with the "Grand Prix Museum" remodeling project, the Wine Museum is temporarily closed until further notice.
This 1400 square-metre space is divided into a number of areas (Historical information/Wine Cellar/Museum and Exhibitions), using maps, texts, photos, tiles and videos, among other things to relate the history of wine. The aim of each section is not only to provide information regarding wine and grapevines, but also to recreate the atmosphere of the production of wine, showing the visitor the modern and traditional tools connected to wine production.
One of the main targets of this museum is to bring the visitor into contact with the social, economical and cultural importance of wine in Portuguese culture, traditions, daily life and celebratory rituals.
The space which houses around, 1143 different wine brands and in exposition (1115 Portuguese and 28 Chinese). From the 1115 Portuguese wine brands, there are 756 commercial wines and 359 special collection wines, and the Porto 1815 being the oldest; covers the different regions in Portugal and also presents examples of wine production in the People's Republic of China. All varieties are accompanied by a short explanation.
There is also a set of mannequins wearing the various regional costumes from the different regions of Portugal.
Address: Rua Luis Gonzaga Gomes 431, basement (Tourism Activities Centre-CAT).Opening hours: 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. Closed on Tuesdays.Free admissionTel: +853 8397 1825, 8397 1761Fax: +853 2870 3820
* To cope with the remodeling project,...
* To cope with the remodeling project, the Grand Prix Museum is temporarily closed until further notice.
Opened 1993 to celebrate the 40th anniversary of the Macau Grand Prix, which features a number of automobile and motorbike races and takes place every year in November. It started in 1954 due to the enthusiasm of a group of Macao residents and the support of the authorities. Today it is an international sports event that attracts thousands of tourists and racing enthusiasts to Macao, to watch the classic "Guia Race" and the "Formula 3 Grand Prix". As it takes place on a street circuit, which inevitably leads to a comparison with Monte Carlo, the Macau Grand Prix has been developing into a race that, due to the exactness and the need for precision which it imposes on the drivers, has had the participation of great names of the motor racing participating and which has also served as a launching platform for many other names, the visitor will certainly recognise while visiting the Grand Prix Museum.
In celebration of the 50th Macau Grand Prix, the Macao Government Tourism Office has carried out extensive renovations and modernization of the Museum.
The Museum pays tribute to individuals who have made extensive contributions to the success of the Grand Prix, namely Teddy Yip, Paul Du Toit, Laurel, Ayrton Senna and John Corsmit, among others. Come and discover the Grand Prix Museum, where a collection of magnificent machines that were raced and won the Guia circuit represent the history of one of the most exciting circuits in the world.
Address: Rua Luis Gonzaga Gomes, 431, basement (Tourism Activities Centre-CAT)Opening hours: 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. Closed on Tuesdays. Free admissionTel: +853 8397 1825, 8397 1761Fax: +853 2870 3820
The Macao Museum of Art is the only ar...
The Macao Museum of Art is the only art museum in Macao and provides the largest space dedicated to visual arts.
There are 5 floors in the Museum with seven different exhibition galleries. The Gallery of Chinese Calligraphy and Paintings and Gallery of Chinese Ceramics are located on the fourth floor, where mainly Chinese Calligraphy, Paintings, and Shiwan Ceramics from Canton are exhibited. On the second and third floors there are galleries for temporary exhibitions which has on display various artist's collections from Macao and around the world. The Gallery of Historical Pictures is also located on the third floor, including the export-orientated Western paintings and European prints of Macao's scenery by Chinese and Western painters.
The auditorium is located on the first floor with the capacity to seat more than 100 people. It is equipped for video projections and slides and various seminars are regularly organised for the public. The Museum has a library with many art-related books and allows use of the audio facilities and internet services for free. The library is also equipped with visual facilities where the public can choose from over 400 international films to watch in its visual room. On the ground floor, there is also a workshop where various art courses are regularly organised.
Address: Av. Xian Xing Hai, Macao Opening hours: 10 a.m. - 7 p.m., last admission until 6:30 p.m. (closed on Mondays) Free admissionTel: +853 8791 9814 Museum / +853 8791 9802 LibraryE-mail: MAM@icm.gov.moWebsite: http://www.mam.gov.mo
The Handover Gifts Museum of Macao is ...
The Handover Gifts Museum of Macao is built on the site of the Macao Handover Ceremony of the Sino-Portuguese Governments. Now, it is the location for the exhibition of the handover gifts.
Inside, visitors can see the auspicious gifts offered by the 56 ethnics to celebrate the establishment of the Macao Special Administrative Region. These gifts were well designed with the nation's unique artistic regional styles and represent best wishes of the ethnic groups towards Macao's prosperous future.
Address: Av. Xian Xing Hai, MacaoOpening Hours: 10 a.m. - 7 p.m. (Tickets are only available up to 6:30 p.m. Closed on Mondays)Free admissionTel: +853 8504 1800Website: http://www.icm.gov.mo/handovermuseum/index.htm
Macao Science Center was designed by w...
Macao Science Center was designed by world renowned architect Mr. I.M. Pei and Pei Partnership Architects. With a gross floor area of 20,000 square metres, Macao Science Center consists of the Exhibition Center, the Planetarium and the Convention Center.
Exhibition CenterThe permanent galleries cover topics in Science for children, Technology, Environment and Life Style. The exhibitions seek to provide knowledge-oriented, scientific and interesting interactive exhibits, and allow visitors to explore science exhibitions to provide more diversified features to the visitors.
PlanetariumThe first Planetarium in the world equipped with 3D and ultra-high definition projection system of 8,000 x 8,000 pixels, and is capable of playing interactive live shows and dome movies in 3D. Its powerful real-time astronomical database can take audiences onto a journey travelling freely in space and time.
Convention CenterThe Convention Center includes a multi-functional Convention Hall and 4 Meeting Rooms. It is equipped with professional audio-visual facilities, simultaneous interpretation systems, and video conferencing equipment.
Address: Avenida Dr. Sun Yat-Sen, MacauOpening hours: 10:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. (Tickets are only available up to 5.30 p.m., closed on Thursdays and Lunar New Year's Eve, open on public holidays.) Open daily in July and August.Tickets: Exhibition Galleries - MOP25Planetarium (2D Dome /2D Sky Shows) - MOP60Planetarium (3D Dome /3D Sky Shows) - MOP80Free admission for children under 2 years oldTel: +853 2888 0822Fax: +853 2888 0855E-mail：firstname.lastname@example.orgWebsite: http://www.msc.org.mo
The Spanish Dominicans built the ...
The Spanish Dominicans built the Church of S. Domingos (St. Dominic's) during the 1590s along with a convent, which unfortunately no longer exists. The church is dedicated to Our Lady of the Rosary. Initially was built of wood but during the 17th century it was replaced by an imposing structure, which included three naves. In the 18th century in line with the popular architecture of the time it was decorated in the colonial baroque style together with decorative motives characteristic of the region, a fact that contributes to its unique features.
The Museum of the Church of S. Domingos (Treasure of Sacred Art) is now located in the buildings adjacent to the church and it has been open to visitors since 1997. When the Religious Order was abolished in Portugal in 1834, the church received a great number of religious artefacts that are presently on show in the museum, which occupies what is left of the ancient cloisters and also other rooms connected to the church.
The visitor should start in the church, which was carefully restored in 1994, enabling them to somehow experience the atmosphere of ancient Catholic missions in China. Then go upstairs to the museum in order to admire the rich collection of gold objects, statues, richly ornamented canonicals, religious paintings as well as a number of liturgical vessels. Many of the pieces exhibited are from Macao but there are also some from other parts of Asia, namely India. On the whole there are around 300 excellent pieces dating from the 17th to the 19th centuries.
Address: S. Domingos Square, Macao (next to Senado Square)Opening hours: 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. Free admissionTel: +853 28367706Website: http://www.macaumuseum.gov.mo/w3ENG/w3MMabout/DomingosC.aspx
Founded in 1728 by Jesuit missionaries...
Founded in 1728 by Jesuit missionaries, St. Joseph’s Seminary has cultivated numerous outstanding Catholic clergy in the course of the last three centuries, maintained a close relationship with Macao’s social development and made positive contributions to local cultural, educational, artistic and charitable undertakings.
St. Joseph’s Seminary houses a great number of religious artefacts, e.g. books and documents, oil paintings, icons, liturgical vestments and vessels, etc. In order to give the public an opportunity to appreciate these historical collections, the Cultural Affairs Bureau of the Macao SAR Government has collaborated with the Seminary and the Catholic Diocese of Macao in establishing the Treasure of Sacred Art of St. Joseph’s Seminary.
Address: Igreja de S. José, Rua do Seminário, MacauOpening hours: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. (Closed on Wednesdays, open on public holidays)Free admissionTel: +853 2835 7911E-mail: email@example.comWebsite: http://www.icm.gov.mo/en/stJose
Source: Cultural Affairs Bureau
The Museum of Sacred Art and Crypt wer...
The Museum of Sacred Art and Crypt were built in the inner area of the Ruins of St. Paul's where the magnificent church of Mater Dei had been previously located. From 1990 to 1996, the Government proceeded archaeological excavation and restoration project of the Church, and built in the location of the chancel of the ancient church, the Museum of Sacred Art and Crypt was inaugurated on 23rd October 1996.
In the centre of the Crypt, on the granite rock, lie the remains of a tomb, which might have belonged to the founder of the St. Paul's College, Father Alexander Valignano. Along the sidewalls, there are relics of Japanese and Vietnamese martyrs.
In the room adjacent to the Crypt there is a Museum of Sacred Art, which includes objects of high historical and artistic value from different churches and convents of Macao, as well as 4 sacred paintings about St. Francis, crucifixes, religious statues and liturgical vessels, etc. Among the oil paintings, the St. Archangel Michael of the 17th century is highlighted, not only because of its antiquity and imposing figure but also it is the only work of the ancient St. Paul's College having survived the fire in 1835.
Since the 17th century and along the centuries, Macao has been a missionary base in the Far East. The St. Paul's College played a significant role in early religious activities. Thus the Museum of Sacred Art and Crypt, as well as the ancient Church of Mater Dei (Ruins of St. Paul's) are remarkable historical remains reflecting the missionary work of that period.
On 15th July 2005, the Historic Centre of Macao was officially listed as UNESCO World Cultural Heritage. The Ruins of St. Paul's are significant historical monuments of the Centre.
Address: Ruins of St. Paul's, Macao Opening hours: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. (except Tuesday afternoon), no admission after 5:30 p.m. Open on public holidays. Tuesday from 9 a.m. to 2 p.m.Free admission Website: http://www.macaumuseum.gov.mo/w3ENG/w3MMabout/ScaredC.aspx
This original building in the architec...
This original building in the architectonic heritage of Macao houses a number of documents, paying homage to the stay of Dr. Sun Yat-Sen in Macao. He was the mentor and driving force of the Chinese republican revolution, which overthrew the weak regime of the Qing Dynasty. A charismatic personality that united the Chinese, he is therefore considered as the "Father of the Nation". The house bears witness to his short but significant stay in Macao at the beginning of the last century when, while fleeing the power of the imperial mandarins, he tried to move his supporters in order to plan for the establishment of a new regime in China. In Macao he received the support of friends, at the time important and powerful persons in political and social of Macao.
Address: No. 1, Rua Silva Mendes, Macao (opposite the police station)Opening hours: 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. Closed on Tuesdays. Free admissionTel: +853 2857 4064 / 2830 6282
This small museum is located near the ...
This small museum is located near the Lin Fong Temple and commemorates the visit of the imperial commissioner Lin Zexu to Macao on the 3rd September 1839 (during the reign of Emperor Daoguang). The aim of the visit was to ensure both the prohibition of the opium trade in the Territory administered by the Portuguese authorities and the Portuguese neutrality in the differences that opposed Great Britain to China and, which would lead to the Opium War. This war would result in the opening of a number of Chinese ports to the international commerce and to the cession of Hong Kong Island to the British.
This museum has a photographic display bearing witness to that highly tense period in the history of China.
Address: Av. Almirante Lacerda, Macao (near the Canidrome Dog Race Track and at the foot of the Mong Há Hill)Opening hours: 9 a.m. - 5 p.m. (Closed on Monday and mandatory holidays)Tickets: Adult - MOP5; children under 8 and seniors over 65 - MOP3. Tel: +853 2855 0166
The Fire Services Museum Building was ...
The Fire Services Museum Building was built in 1920 in European style, with more than 700 exhibits in two halls occupying an area of 350 square meters. In the main hall there are Chinese and British made pumps, old British fire engines, a display showing a fireman sliding down a pole, data, historic pictures and shield, flags, diplomas, medals and badges of the brigade. There is also a mannequin dressed in a 1940's ceremonial uniform.
The second hall shows a more face of the brigade where there are a model of the Central Operational Post, an electronic board indicating the sites of current and past fire stations, a helmet and boots, traditional Chinese hoses and nozzles, ancient fire alarms, the plaque with the word well ladders, the breathing apparatus and public fire hydrants. There is also a model simulating the effect of fire on a wooden hut.
Address: Estrada de Coelho do Amaral, no. 2 to 6, MacaoOpening hours: Everyday from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m., open on public holidays.Free admissionTel: +853 8396 0420 / 8396 0319
The Holy House of Mercy Museum, which ...
The Holy House of Mercy Museum, which was opened in 2001, comprises an invaluable collection of Macao's Catholic relics, some of them dated back from 16th Century, bearing testimony to the history of Western culture that was introduced to China through Macao.
Here, lies items connected to the history of the Holy House itself, with natural emphasis for the original manuscript of the Commitment of the Macau Holy House of Mercy handwritten and dated of 1662, believed to be the oldest in the Holy House of Mercy's archives, institution founded some years earlier, in 1569 by the first Bishop of Macao, D. Belchior Carneiro.
Other relevant pieces of secular history of the Holy House of Mercy are: the Skull D. Belchior Carneiro and the Cross that he was buried with; the oil portrait of D. Belchior Carneiro, dating from the 18th century; and the bronze bell from the old S. Rafael Hospital.
Another feature of the museum are the pieces of Sacred Art among which stand out: the statue of the Sacred Heart of Jesus dated from the early 19th century, the statues of Our Lady of the Annunciation and Crucified Christ, both in ivory and dated from 18th century, Japanese and European ceramics with the monogram of the Society of Jesus, demonstrating the key role played by the Jesuits in the rapprochement between the Eastern and western civilizations.
Address: Travessa da Misericordia, No.2, Macao (at Senado Square) Opening hours: 10 a.m. - 1 p.m., 2:30 p.m. - 5:30 p.m. (closed on Mondays and public holidays) Admission Fee: MOP5; Students and seniors over 65: Free. Tel: +853 2857 3938 / 2833 7503 Website: http://www.scmm.mo
Located in the Seac Pai Van Park of Co...
Located in the Seac Pai Van Park of Coloane, the Natural and Agrarian Museum is the first museum of nature in Coloane Island dedicated to showcases of natural resources. It was opened to the public on 21st March, 1997. Each of the two exhibition halls of the Museum has two display areas housing a collection of around 200 exhibits under the following themes on Macao: physical geography, Mangal artificial, specimens of flora and fauna.
Address: Seac Pai Van Park, Coloane, Macau Opening hours: from 10:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. (Closed on Mondays except holidays). Free admission Tel: +853 2888 0087 E-mail: firstname.lastname@example.org Website: https://nature.iacm.gov.mo/e/edufacility/detail.aspx?id=01217587-280b-42db-9cf6-70e5bd38280c
*In conjunction with the activities of...
*In conjunction with the activities of 65th Macau Grand Prix, the Taipa Houses will be temporarily closed to the public from 12pm on Saturday, 17 November, until the end of the activities.
Acclaimed as one of the top eight sites of Macao, the Taipa Houses represents the charming Portuguese architectural style in Taipa. The Portuguese residences along Avenida da Praia, together with the neighbouring Our Lady of Carmel Church and the garden, comprise a picturesque landscape in which the five green houses stand out as the most representative.
These five houses, built in 1921, once served as the residences of senior civil servants, also namely Macanese families; in 1992, they were acknowledged as a building complex of architectural value. Later, the government decided to revamp the houses completely as a museum site, opened to the public at the end of 1999 as the ‘Taipa Houses-Museum’.
In September 2016, the Macao SAR Government re-capitalised on these five buildings by transforming them into the ‘Macanese Living Museum’, ‘Exhibitions Gallery’, ‘Creative Casa’, ‘Nostalgic House’ and ‘House for Receptions’ from west to east, respectively. This project has converted the place into a combination of culture and creativity, with outdoor performances and leisure elements, making it a showcase of not only the culture of the Portuguese-speaking countries but of culture from all over the world.
Macanese Living MuseumThe Macanese Living Museum recreates daily scenes from Macao’s past. The term ‘Macanese’ refers to the ethnic group whose Portuguese ancestors married Chinese, Malay and Filipinos from Southeast Asia, and Indians from South Asia, in Macao. The Macanese have their own dialect and lifestyle; while most of them share Western religious beliefs they are also deeply influenced by Chinese life patterns.
Exhibitions Gallery The Exhibitions Gallery shows exhibitions from time to time to enrich local people’s leisure life. In addition, it is available for consulates to borrow to serve as an exhibition and exchange venue for world culture and art, thus introducing more cultural tourism elements through exchanges between Macao and other countries.
Creative CasaThe Creative Casa primarily serves as a platform for the exhibition and promotion of the culture and information of Macao and Portuguese-speaking countries, and the sale of specialty products. The ground floor displays and sells cultural products and publications with Portuguese characteristics and related to Taipa, and the first floor is a space for temporary exhibitions.
Nostalgic HouseIn the Nostalgic House, special exhibitions on the Macanese people and the Cotai district are organized from time to time in order to display the native culture, life, religion, architecture, and cuisine of the Macanese community and Cotai district in the past and present.
House for ReceptionsThe House for Receptions is not open to the public. It is a venue for official banquets, receptions and other activities.
Address: Avenida da Praia, Taipa, Macau Opening hours: 10 a.m. to 7 p.m., no admittance after 6:30 p.m. Closed on Mondays. 'Creative Casa': 10 a.m. to 7 p.m.. 'House for Receptions' is not open to public.Free admissionTel.: +853 8988 4000 / 2882 7527E-mail: email@example.comWebsite: http://www.icm.gov.mo/en/housesmuseum
The Museum boosts a collection of over...
The Museum boosts a collection of over 200 pieces of authentic historical audio and visual equipment : antique gramophones and phonographs, hand-cranked music boxes, manual telephones, tube radios, carved cashiers, wire recorders, televisions and coin-operated juke boxes that date back from as far as more than one hundred years ago. Come and experience the visual and operatic beauty of original records and cylinders playing on the original talking machines. Take yourself back in time and marvel at the magic and wonder of an earlier world of music powered by springs to the development of modern day electronics.
Address: Rua das Estalagens No 13-15, 2.o andar, Macau (Tai Peng Electronics & Appliances)Opening hours: Appointment is needed at least one day in advance. Closed on Saturdays & Sundays. Admission Fee: MOP30Tel: +853 2892 1389Website: http://www.tai-peng.com
"Tak Seng On" [The Virtue and Success ...
"Tak Seng On" [The Virtue and Success Pawnshop] was established in 1917 , and belonged, initially, to Mr. Kou Ho Ning a wealthy Macao merchant. The architectural design and layout, interior decor and equipment of this establishment would have been very similar to pawnshops in Mainland China at the time.
Today, this kind of pawnshop has been relegated to the annals of history, but as part of its mission to preserve the cultural heritage of Macao, the Cultural Institute of the Macao S.A.R. Government has restored "Tak Seng On" to its original condition. By visiting this historic premise, locals and tourists can glimpse the heyday of the pawn business in Macao.
Address: Av. Almeida Ribeiro No. 396Opening Hours: From 10:30 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. (Closed on the first Monday of every month)Free admissionTel: +853 2835 7911Website: http://www.macaumuseum.gov.mo
The rehabilitation of the Patane Night...
The rehabilitation of the Patane Night Watch House, located at no. 52-54 in Rua da Palmeira, was the result of a cooperative effort between the Cultural Affairs Bureau and Patane's Tou Tei Mio Mercy and Charity Association. The Night Watch House, officially opened to the public on the 18th of December, 2015, aims not only to reveal the traditional values of mutual assistance, which took place between different neighbourhoods and local communities, but also to safeguard folk traditions and local history.
The Patane Night Watch House was part of an ensemble of similar houses, and comprised two single-storey compartments, with gabled roofs, separated by an inner patio. The rear compartment incorporated in its construction an existing large stone, on top of which wooden columns and a brick wall were built. This style of houses, built close to the hillside, embody an architecture that is adapted to the geography of the surrounding area, bringing together the natural and cultural landscapes.
The night watch in ancient China served to report time and remind people to take precautions against fire and theft. In the past, there were also night watchmen in Macao. Later, the service evolved into a night watch patrol system, with the characteristics of a civil defence force and with a clear management structure. However, following the modernisation of the city, this social service gradually vanished. The night watchmen’s practice of holding lanterns and striking gongs to report the time for citizens no longer exists, nor do they assume critical roles to help maintain public security or to ensure social order. As a witness to the sounds of the night watchmen, the only remaining night watch house is located in Rua da Palmeira, in Patane, and is imprinted with this history.
The exhibition covers two themes, namely the various night watch houses existing in Macao and the night watchmen's profession itself. It showcases, through historical photos, the exhibition of objects, the architecture of the night watch house after its renovation, and with an artist’s graphic illustrations, the status, transformation and evolution of this energetic occupation.
Address: Rua da Palmeira n.º 52-54, MacaoOpening hours: 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. (No admission after 5:30 p.m.) Closed on Mondays, open on public holidays.Free admissionVisitor capacity: The exhibition can accommodate a maximum of 15 visitors at any one time.Tel: +853 8399 6699 E-mail: WebMaster.MH@icm.gov.moWebsite: http://www.icm.gov.mo/en/NightWatchHouse
The Exhibition Room of Master Lu Ban's...
The Exhibition Room of Master Lu Ban's Woodcraft Works has been officially open to the public since July 2015 in the Carpenters Guildhall at no. 39-41 of Rua de Camilo Pessanha.
The Carpenters Guildhall building was constructed on the 20th year of the reign of Emperor Daoguang of the Qing Dynasty (ca. 1840), being this guildhall one of the earliest professional associations in Macao’s history. Between 2013 and 2014, the Cultural Affairs Bureau joined hands with the Macao Carpentry Trade Union and proceeded with the restoration of the building. In this way, it was possible to pay homage to master artisan Lu Ban for his contributions and to create a space where Macao’s traditional woodworks could be displayed, thus raising awareness among residents about this activity and the Guildhall itself and, at the same time, revitalizing an important cultural space. The restoration included preventing water infiltration and removal of salt from the walls on the first floor of Lu Ban's altar room, repairing bricks, reinforcing the structure of the building and reopening the skylight. It also included the conversion of the room previously used for the Union's activities into an exhibition room for traditional carpentry techniques, which, together with the main hall of Lu Ban's altar room and the outdoor courtyard, make up the current Exhibition Room of Master Lu Ban's Woodcraft Works, comprising a total area of 172 m2.
Currently, the altar's main hall displays a large version of 'Lu Ban So', also known as Lu Ban's lock, while the exhibition room showcases, through objects and multimedia, over 80 traditional wooden tools, including saws, planes, drills and ink markers, as well as information about Lu Ban’s story, his inventions and the techniques for using carpentry tools. Also, building components which were built using the ‘mortise-and-tenon’ structure are on display and wooden tools are available for the use of visitors. All of these demonstrate the traditional craftsmanship and wisdom passed down from generations, allowing visitors to gain a better understanding of carpentry techniques and traditional industries. In addition, the Centre of Continuing Education and Special Projects of the Macao Polytechnic Institute provided historical materials and documents, as well as narrative documentaries, which further enriched the display content of the Exhibition Room of Master Lu Ban's Woodcraft Works.
Address: Rua de Camilo Pessanha, S/N, Macao (Carpenters’ Guildhall) Opening hours: 10 a.m. to 6 p.m.. Closed on Wednesdays, open on public holidays.Free admissionVisitor Capacity: The Exhibition Room can accommodate a maximum of 20 visitors at any one time. Tel: +853 8399 6699E-mail: WebMaster.MH@icm.gov.moWebsite: http://www.icm.gov.mo/en/LuBan
The time-honoured Na Tcha Customs and ...
The time-honoured Na Tcha Customs and Beliefs of Macao, having been passed down from generation to generation, were inscribed on the National Intangible Cultural Heritage List in 2014. To manifest the diversity of Macao’s culture, and contribute to the long-standing safeguarding and sustainable transmission of Na Tcha Customs and Beliefs, the ‘Na Tcha Exhibition Hall’ was unveiled in 2012. Choreographed by the Cultural Affair Bureau and supported by the Na Tcha Temple Association and residents nearby, this initiative enabled locals and visitors to grasp the festivities, history and customs related and dedicated to this Deity.
The exhibition room in Na Tcha Temple, a construction that brings together the traditional and the modern, has a total area of around 70 m2. This room presents the legend of Na Tcha and its festivities and exhibits several objects used in the celebration of the deity’s birthday, such as religious incense burners, couplets, objects used in religious processions, like the Sedan-Chair of Na Tcha, the ceremonial umbrella, lion heads, and also firecrackers for the religious festivities, among others. Furthermore, the Cultural Affairs Bureau has created a video about Na Tcha’s festivities and has compiled, on an eBook format, photographs of commemorative activities in honour of this deity taken during the last decades, allowing the visitors to witness the history and the evolution of these traditions. The exhibition showcases eight drawings explaining the origins of Na Tcha’s legend in a didactic way, being the work of a local popular cartoonist, named Ah-Cheng. Through these objects, the visitors can better understand the meaning of the Na Tcha beliefs and traditions, as well as experience the festive atmosphere of its celebrations. Also exhibited in this space are artifacts and construction remains found during archaeological excavations, believed to have belonged to the western wing of the Church of Mater Dei.
Address: Pátio do Espinho n.º 6, Macao Opening Hours: 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. (No admission after 5:30 p.m.) Closed on Wednesdays, open on public holidays. Free Admission Visitor capacity: The Exhibition Room can accommodate a maximum of 20 visitors at any one time. Tel: +853 8399 6699Email: WebMaster.MH@icm.gov.moWebsite: http://www.icm.gov.mo/en/NaTcha
Located next to the S. Francisco Garde...
Located next to the S. Francisco Garden (Calçada dos Quartéis S. Francisco), exhibits military equipment and introducing Macao Police Force history.
Address: Calçada dos Quartéis, MacauOpening hours: Monday to Friday - 9:00 a.m. to 5:45 p.m. ; Weekends & public holidays - 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.Free AdmissionTel: +853 2855 9999Website: http://www.fsm.gov.mo
The Macao Tea Culture House - an impos...
The Macao Tea Culture House - an imposing edifice featuring southern European elements and a Chinese tiled roof - complements the Portuguese-style buildings in the area magnificently as well as the surrounding Suzhou-inspired landscape of Lou Lim Ieoc Garden.
This new attraction will stage a variety of long and short-term exhibitions to introduce the tea cultures of Macao, China and the West, and seeks to promote the study of tea cultures worldwide.
Address: Lou Lim Ieoc Garden, Avenida do Conselheiro Ferreira de Almeida, MacauOpening Hours: 9:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. (Closed on Mondays, open on public holidays) Free admission Telephone enquiries: +853 2836 6866Website: http://www.icm.gov.mo/en/
The Macao Post and Telecommunications ...
The Macao Post and Telecommunications Bureau’s Communications Museum is a place with cultural, scientific and technological characteristics. With the belief of "Dare to experiment, Dare to discover, the Museum encourages visitors to enjoy "Fun Learning at Communications Museum”
Visitors can request for information at the Reception & Shop about exhibitions, activities and facilities lease, shop for their favorite Macao stamps and request for postal and money transfer services. Postal/Philately Gallery displays exhibits related to the history of Macao Post ranging from precious artifacts to valuable collection of stamps and postal objects.
Telecommunications Gallery shows the most interactive and experimental exhibits of the Museum. Visitors will understand the development of the means and techniques of communications as well as front-end technologies.
Outdoor exhibits are installed in the terrace next to the D. Maria II Garden. Visitors can enjoy the beautiful scenery of Macao and the Fortress D. Maria II built in 1852 (Qing Dynasty, Xianfeng 2nd Year - the only ancient fortress that uses a suspension bridge as the entrance.
Address: Estrada de D. Maria II, no. 7, MacauOpening hours: From 9:00 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. Closed on public holidays.Tickets: Individual - MOP10 / Student Card holders (ISIC or local) - MOP5 / Groups of 15 or above - MOP7 per person / Macao residents, Local student group visits booked by schools, Children under 3 years old and Holders of local or international (ITIC) Teacher Identify Card, Tour Guide Card & Tour Guide Trainee Card of Macao, ICOM Membership Card, Senior Citizens Card and Disability Assessment Registration Card issued by Social Welfare Bureau - Free.Telephone enquiries: +853 2871 8063 / 28718570E-mail: firstname.lastname@example.orgWebsite: http://www.cmm.gov.mo
A comprehensive collection of exhibits...
A comprehensive collection of exhibits are displayed at the museum. On the first floor, the exhibitions of the historical relics unearthed on Coloane, the stone architectural remains in the basement of the former Island Council Building, and the development of the villages, religions and culture of the islands provide an overview of the history and culture of old Coloane and Taipa. The exhibition rooms on the second floor have different themes, including the history of the former Municipal Council of the Islands, a look back at agriculture and handicrafts in the old days, the architectural features of buildings on Coloane and Taipa and the recent development of the two islands. It provides visitors with a better understanding of the modern political and economical development of Coloane and Taipa.
Address: Rua Correia da Silva, TaipaOpening Hours: 10:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. (No admittance after 5:30 p.m.). Closed on Mondays.Free admissionTel: +853 2836 6866Website: http://www.icm.gov.mo/en/
Address: No. 10 António da Silva LaneOpening hours: 10 a.m. - 6 p.m. (No admission after 5:30 p.m., closed on Wednesdays, except public holidays)Free AdmissionTel: +853 2896 8820Website: http://www.wh.mo/mandarinhouseGuided tours (in Cantonese) are offered at a fixed schedule on Saturdays and Sundays and online reservation is required
Address: No.7, Travessa da SéOpening hours: 10 a.m. - 6 p.m., no admission after 5:30 p.m. (Closed on Mondays, except public holidays)
The late General Ye Ting, a prominent ...
The late General Ye Ting, a prominent military leader and one of the pioneers for the Chinese People's Liberation Army, had spent seven years living in Macao. In commemoration of his significant role in China’s modern history, the Macao SAR Government has carried out a series of restoration projects on Ye’s former residence in Macao since 2006, raised bronze sculpture at the front yard and installed photo exhibitions in the mansion. General Ye Ting's Former Residence was officially opened to the public on 28 May 2014.
The two-storey, western-style mansion occupies some 180 square meters together with its front yard. Entering the Former Residence, visitors can find the mansion furnished with numerous pieces of its original furniture and home decorations from the old days. Housing a display of antique photos, General Ye Ting's Former Residence bears witness to Ye Ting’s life in Macao with his family in the bygone years.
Address: Rua do Almirante Costa Cabral, No. 76, Macau Opening hours: 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. (Closed on Wednesdays; open on public holidays)Free admission Enquiries: +853 8399 6699Website: http://www.icm.gov.mo
The building located at No. 80 in Rua ...
The building located at No. 80 in Rua das Estalagens, where the Former Chong Sai Pharmacy established by Dr. Sun Yat-sen, was built before 1892. The building is a typical shophouse. From July 1893 to early 1894, was one of the first pharmacies and clinics recorded in Macao's history with western medical services, operated by Chinese doctor. Afterwards, the house was rented out, handed over and sold several times throughout the years, even being used as a Taoist hall and later used for textile businesses.
The Government of Macao S.A.R acquired the house in 2011 and carried out restoration and revitalisation works. After its conservation has been completed in 2016, It has become an exhibition space for the public. Currently, exhibitions in commemoration of the 150th anniversary of Dr. Sun Yat-sen’s birth and on the conservation of No. 80 are ongoing, the exhibitions cover sections of an archaeological artefacts and traces, renovation techniques of the building and architectural features as well as a section specially dedicated to Dr. Sun Yat-sen and Macao. These exhibitions allow visitors to have further understanding of the relationship between Dr. Sun Yat-sen and Macao as well as the characteristics and architectonical features of this traditional shophouse.
Address: Rua das Estalagens, No. 80, Macau Opening hours: 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. (Closed on Tuesdays; open on public holidays)Free admissionCrowd control: A maximum of 40 visitors are allowed at a timeTel: +853 8399 6699E-mail: WebMaster.MH@icm.gov.moWebsite: http://www.icm.gov.mo/en/ChongSaiPharmacy
Professor Jao Tsung-i, widely honoured...
Professor Jao Tsung-i, widely honoured as “master of Sinology”, has earned worldwide reputation. With remarkable achievements and outstanding contributions in literature, arts, academics, Professor Jao is a rare giant of the century. The connection between Professor Jao and Macao is profound. Professor Jao’s attention and support to Macao’s cultural arena are shown by generous donations of his artworks and pieces of writing to the cultural departments of Macao. To promulgate Chinese culture and arts, the Macao SAR Government establishes the Jao Tsung-I Academy and holds the permanent exhibition Calligraphies and Paintings Donated by Jao Tsung-I, making the professor’s excellent artworks accessible to visitors.
Address: Avenida do Conselheiro Ferreira de Almeida, No. 95 C-D, Macao Opening hours: 10:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. (Last admission at 5:30 p.m., closed on Mondays, open on public holidays) Free admissionTel: +853 2852 2523 E-mail: email@example.com Website: http://www.ajti.gov.mo/EN/Default/Source: Cultural Institute
The Commemorative Gallery of the Macao...
The Commemorative Gallery of the Macao Basic Law was established in 2013.
There are a total of 7 exhibition areas dedicated to explaining the Macao Basic Law. These exhibition areas, including “Forward”, “Retrospective History of Macao”, “The Guiding Principle of One Country, Two Systems”, “Formulation and Implementation of the Macao Basic Law”, “Structure of the Macao Basic Law”, “Success of the Macao Basic Law” and “Promotion of the Macao Basic Law”, illustrate the historical background, drafting process of the Macao Basic Law, and the way that individuals from various fields in the society make effort to promote and exercise the Macao Basic Law. Thus, Macao residents’ patriotic sentiment and their love towards Macao can be felt.
Address: Avenida de Marciano Baptista, Macau Opening Hours: 10am - 7pm (Closed on Mondays) Free admission Tel: +853 2833 7676 Fax: +853 8394 8827 Website: http://civicedu.iacm.gov.mo/e/submenu13/frame
Established in 1892, Tung Sin Tong Cha...
Established in 1892, Tung Sin Tong Charitable Society was the first such Chinese charitable organization in Macao, and is the only one in China to have provided an uninterrupted service since its inception. From its humble origins of providing food, clothing and medicine to the poor, it has grown into a sizeable institution that today operates nurseries, a primary and secondary school, an adult-education centre, medical clinics and pharmacy, and dispenses rice and cooking oil to the needy. Learn more about this inspiring institution - and the people of Macao - in the Archive Exhibition Hall.
Address: No. 55, Rua de Camilo Pessanha, MacaoTime: 9:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. (Closed on Tuesdays and mandatory holidays)Free admissionTel: +853 2838 9773 / 2892 2022Email: firstname.lastname@example.org
The gallery, opened in 1985, is locate...
The gallery, opened in 1985, is located in one of the lateral sections of the main lobby. It was formerly office premises but later served as a gallery for holding cultural and art exhibitions.
Address: Av. Almeida Ribeiro, 163Opening hours: 9:00 a.m. - 9:00 p.m. (closed on Mondays, open on public holidays)Free AdmissionEnquiries: +853 2836 6866Website: http://www.icm.gov.mo/en/
An exciting gallery devoted to promoti...
An exciting gallery devoted to promoting both cultural and artistic exhibitions has been opened in Macao on 5th Dec. 2003. The Tap Seac Gallery, which is being financed and managed by the Cultural Institute, is available for presentations, educational projects and research projects, expositions and other functions.
Tap Seac Gallery features distinctive design and construction having two wells inside the building, plus a patio in the centre of the building which allows in daylight to add a unique dimension to exhibitions and displays. The gallery covers 4,000 square feet, and for multi-purpose usage, the interior signboards can easily be adjusted and moved around. In addition, there are some computer stations allowing access to the Internet as a further aid for cultural research and information.
Address: Av. Conselheiro Ferreira de Almeida, No. 95, MacauOpening Hours: 10:00 a.m. to 9:00 p.m. Telephone enquiries: +853 2836 6866Email: email@example.comWebsite: http://www.macauart.net/TS/index.asp
Source: Cultural Institute
Cinematheque．Passion is a three-storey...
Cinematheque．Passion is a three-storey building assembled with multiple functions including video storage, film journals and book loan service and film appreciation. On the ground floor are the ticket lobby, screening room and control room, primarily used for screening art films and independent films. Local film materials, periodicals and magazines are available for residents in the film information room on the first floor, while the office is located on the second floor. The establishment of the Cinematheque aims to promote Macao film culture by cultivating local film appreciation and providing a diversified choice of movies.
Address: Travessa da Paixão, n.º 13, MacauOpening Hours: Tuesdays to Sundays (Closed on Mondays, open on public holidays)Ticket Office: 10 a.m. to 11:30 p.m.Film Information Room: 10 a.m. to 8 p.m.Tel: +853 2852 2585E-mail: firstname.lastname@example.orgWebsite: http://www.cinematheque-passion.mo/en/Home
* The Ox Warehouse was closed temporar...
* The Ox Warehouse was closed temporarily.
Founded in March 2002, Ox Warehouse - formerly known as the ‘Old Ladies' House Art Space’ – is a private non-profit art association. Ox Warehouse regularly organizes exhibitions in various mediums including painting, sculpture, poster design, installation, sketching, etc. to provide an experimental and exchange platform for local contemporary arts. In addition, it offers workshops for adults and children in drawing, music, and other artistic activities. The Ox Warehouse boasts attractive historic architecture, and is equipped with a small library, art information corner, CD corner and a café to spend quality time in before browsing further.
Address: Intersection of Avenida do Coronel Mesquita and Avenida Almirante LacerdaOpening hours: 12 p.m. to 7 p.m. (Closed on Tuesdays and mandatory holidays)Free AdmissionTel: +853 28530026Email: email@example.comWebsite: http://oxwarehouse.blogspot.com
Address: No.1 Cathedral SquareOpening hours: 9:30 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.
This chapel was first built in the 17t...
This chapel was first built in the 17th century as part of the Guia Fortress. The present chapel dates from 1637, containing the image of the Virgin and a fine old painting of St. John the Baptist. During the restoration of the chapel in 1996, the oldest vestige of paintings that dates back to the construction of the hermitage in 1622 were founded. The murals are characterized by Oriental and Occidentals symbols.
Opening hours: 10 a.m. - 5 p.m. (no photographs allowed)
The first chapel was founded in 1622 b...
The first chapel was founded in 1622 by the crew and passengers of a ship which had narrowly escaped capture by the Dutch. The chapel served as a point of pilgrimage for sailors embarking on a hazardous voyage.
Address: Hilltop of Penha HillOpening hours: 10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Built in 1928, this chapel follows the...
Built in 1928, this chapel follows the baroque style of Macao's major churches. It has a cream and white facade with oval windows and a bell tower. It stands behind the monument commemorating the local victory over pirates in 1910.
The chapel contains some of the most sacred relics of Christian Asia. In a silver reliquary is a bone from the arm of St. Francis Xavier, who followed his missionary successes in Japan by coming to the China coast, where he died in 1552 on Sanchuan Island, 50 miles from Macao. The relic was destined for Japan but religious persecution there persuaded the church to keep it in Macao' s St. Paul' s. It was moved first to St. Joseph′ s and in 1978 to the chapel.
Persecution of Christians in Japan led to 26 foreign and Japanese Catholic priests being crucified in Nagasaki in 1597 and many hundreds of Christian Japanese being killed during the 1637 Shimabara Rebellion. The bones of the Martyrs and some of the rebels were brought to Macao and kept in St. Paul' s. After fire destroyed the church, the bones were gathered and taken to the Cathedral. They were moved to St. Francis Xavier Chapel in 1974. Other bones stored in the chapel are relics of martyrs from 17th century Vietnam.
A few years ago, the relic was taken to St. Joseph' s Seminary and the Sacred Art Museum, but many people still come to this Chapel, especially Japanese Christians.
Address: Rua do Caetano, Largo Eduardo Marques, ColoaneOpening hours: 9:30 a.m. - 5:30 p.m.
Set in the beautiful, landscaped Catho...
Set in the beautiful, landscaped Catholic Cemetery, this small chapel, built in 1875, is one of the best maintained buildings in Macao. Its exterior is painted green and white. A stained-glass window filters coloured light into the chapel.
Address: Estrada do Cemitério, Cemitério S. Miguel Arcanjo (St. Michael’s Cemetery)Opening hours: 8:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.
Built in 1885, this church stands on a...
Built in 1885, this church stands on a hill overlooking the sea, Taipa Village and the restored mansions of Old Taipa Praia.
Address: Avenida de Carlos da Maia, Largo do Carmo, TaipaOpening hours: 10:00 a.m. - 12:30 p.m.; 2:00 p.m. - 6:00 p.m.
Rebuilt in 1967, this church ...
Rebuilt in 1967, this church serves the people of the industrial Bairro Tamagnini Barbosa in the north of the city. It stands in a quiet courtyard behind wrought-iron gates. The design is contemporary with a large square tower containing two bells. A broad staircase lead to the spacious church. Inside, the side walls are lined with stained-glass panels and the altar consists of a wooden crucifix on a red brick wall.
Address: Bairro Tamagnini Barbosa, Rua de Lei Pou Ch'ôn, No. 23Opening hours: 9:00 a.m. - 12:00 noon; 2:30 p.m. - 5:30 p.m.
This small church was built in 1966 to...
This small church was built in 1966 to serve the needs of the settlement of Ka Ho, where the families of cured lepers and a few new cases live. It has a magnificent bronze crucifix over the north door. It was created and given to Ka Ho by Italian sculptor Francisco Messima. Also associated with the building of this church is the name of another Italian sculptor, Oseo Acconci.
Address: Estrada de Nossa Senhora de Ká Hó, Nossa Senhora Village, Coloane
To serve Macao's small Protestant mino...
To serve Macao's small Protestant minority this chapel is appropriately situated in the cemetery where 150 British and American graves recall the days of the foreign trading and naval presence in Macao. The small stone building is sometimes called the "Morrison Chapel" in honour of Robert Morrison, a missionary who translated the Bible into Chinese, and the stained glass window contains the art picture of an open Bible with Chinese characters for "In the beginning was the Word". On either side of the altar are plaques recalling James B. Endicott, an American trader who is buried in Hong Kong, and Henry Davies Margesson who drowned off Yokohama when returning home to England after 23 years in China.
Address: Protestant Cemetery (beside Casa Garden)Opening hours: 8:00 a.m. - 5:30 p.m.
Built in 1951, this small attractive c...
Built in 1951, this small attractive church is attached to an old people' s home, near the hill of Mong-Ha. The interior is simple and tranquil with a black marble altar. High louvred shutters along the walls open onto pleasant courtyards and gardens.
Address: No. 116 - 118 Rua de Francisco Xavier PereiraOpening hours: 7:00 a.m. - 9:00 a.m.; 2:30 p.m. - 5:30 p.m.
The first building on this site was th...
The first building on this site was the Hermitage of Our Lady of Hope, or more popularly St. Lazarus, established in 1570 to serve lepers. At the same time a settlement for lepers was built outside the old city walls. (This was transferred to D. João Island in 1882 and to Coloane in 1947, where it is today).
The present St. Lazarus was rebuilt in 1885. In the forecourt is the Cross of Hope from the original chapel.
Address: No. 11 Adro de S. LázaroOpening hours: 8:30 a.m. - 12:00 noon; 3:00 p.m. - 6:00 p.m.
This Buddhist temple dedicated to the ...
This Buddhist temple dedicated to the Goddess of Mercy was founded in the 13th century and the present buildings date from 1627. It is one of the biggest and wealthiest of Macao's temples with a huge entrance gate and roofs clustered with porcelain figures. Separated by open courtyards are richly decorated halls dedicated to the Precious Buddhas, the Buddha of Longevity and Kun Iam, who is dressed in embroiled silk with a fringed crown (which is changed every year). She is attended by 18 Buddhas on either side of the altar. In adjoining rooms are funeral chapels and scrolls honouring Kun Iam in pictures and calligraphy.
Behind the temple are terraced gardens. In one is the stone table on which was signed the first Sino-American treaty on July 3, 1844, by the Viceroy of Canton Ki Ying and the United States Minister Caleb Cushing. Nearby is the marble statue of a monk in an ornate pavilion, and four ancient banyan trees with branches intertwined which is known as the Lovers Tree and a symbol of marital fidelity.
In other parts of the garden are fountains shaped like miniature Chinese landscapes, groves of bamboo and small shrines to departed priests. The festival of Kun Iam is celebrated on the 19th day of second, sixth, ninth and 11th moons.
Address: No. 2 Avenida do Coronel MesquitaOpening hours: 7:30 a.m. to 5 p.m.
(Temple of Lotus)
Built in 1592 and m...
(Temple of Lotus)
Built in 1592 and most regularly restored, this Temple of the Lotus has a fine facade of intricate clay bas-relief carved in the 19th century depicting historical and mythological figures. Stone lions guard the entrance. Inside is a hall with a statue of Tin Hau on the altar, flanked by the guardian generals. Beyond is a courtyard decorated with a frieze of writhing dragons, a lotus filled pond and fine iron brazier. The main hall is dedicated to Kun Iam, whose statue occupies an elaborate altar. Aside altar has a shrine to Kwan Tai. The temple's ceiling is a particularly good example of the black beams and exposed white tiles construction. Lin Fong Temple is historically famous as the place where for centuries Chinese Mandarins from Guangdong Province would stay when they came to Macao. The most renowned visitor was Commissioner Lin Zexu, who spent most of September 3rd 1839 in Macao. He is honoured with a six-foot granite statue and a new museum in the temple courtyard.
Address: Avenida do Almirante LacerdaOpening hours: 7 a.m. to 5 p.m.
(Stream of Mourning Temple)
(Stream of Mourning Temple)
Dating from the 17th century, this temple occupies a square off Estrada do Repouso in the Patane district, where a regular flea market is held. The temple has facade with some fine granite carvings on the walls and ridgepole and large Chinese lion statues on the roof.
The main hall is dedicated to Ua Kuong, the dark-faced god who protects against fire. He is attended by Thousand-Li Eye and Favourable-Wind Ear. In one adjoining hall are goddesses associated with childbirth and rearing. Along the walls are 18 statues of goddesses with children, brightly coloured and expressive clay figures of the 60' year' gods. In another hall is a row of six Buddhist pusas. Kun Iam in her fringed-veil head-dress is worshipped in one of the halls where she shares an altar with a statue of Kwan Tai. A further hall is dedicated to the Monkey God, a popular character from Taoist mythology and hero of the literary epic monkey. The Lin Kai Temple supports a hospital and poor people's home. The festival of Ua Kuong is celebrated on the 28th day of the ninth moon.
Address: No. 25 - 31 Travessa da CordaOpening hours: 7:30 a.m. to 5:15 p.m.
Pou Tai Sin Un on Taipa Island is one ...
Pou Tai Sin Un on Taipa Island is one of the best-endowed and most picturesque temples in Macao. Inside the main hall sits the largest Buddha statue in Macao. This Bronze statue, including its Lotus throne, is 5.4 metres tall and weighs about 6 tons. Besides the main hall and other halls, there is a very popular vegetarian restaurant.
Address: No. 5 – 5B Estrada Lou Lim Ieok, TaipaOpening hours: 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.
This temple, with a fine toll roof dec...
This temple, with a fine toll roof decorated with porcelain figures, is dedicated to Tam Kong, a Taoist god of seafarers. Beside his image, the temple contains a four feet long model of a dragon boat made from a whalebone, with a crew of wooden men in red robes and yellow hats.
There is also a dramatic mural of a tiger with club, big-eyed and orange striped, against a background of rocks and twisted pines.
There are two temples dedicated to Tin Hau in Coloane village. The larger, on Largo Tin Hau Miu has, at its entrance, a traditional fire engine, which had to be wheeled by hand. A short distance away, off Travessa da República, is a smaller temple, with some brilliant gilded carvings over the entrance and a moongate facing the sea.
Address: Avenida de Cinco de Outubro, Largo Tam Kong Miu, ColoaneOpening hours: 8:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.
In the 18th century this hilly, heavil...
In the 18th century this hilly, heavily wooded garden formed part of the grounds of the house which was occupied by the Chairman of the British East India Company, known as Casa Garden, which now houses an art gallery, and the Old Protestant Cemetery, filled with walkways, flowering trees, and old headstones marking the graves of merchants, missionaries, and others from foreign lands who made their home in Macao.
In 1835 the British moved out and the Portuguese owner had a grotto built around a bust of Portugal's national poet, Luís de Camões.The present bronze bust was installed in 1886 when the grotto became state property. Behind the grotto, paths lead up to a wooded hill with a Chinese pavilion and stone tables and stools, where local men gather to play Chinese chess. In front of the grotto is a spacious garden, with benches shaded by banyan trees, where people bring their caged birds for an outing, do their morning tai chi exercises, or meet with friends. At the entrance of the garden is a fountain that contains a bronze sculpture entitled "Embrace", specially made to symbolize the centuries' old friendship between Portugal and China.
Address: Praça de Luís de Camões, Macau Opening hours: 6 a.m. - 10 p.m.
Comendador Ho Yin Garden extends from ...
Comendador Ho Yin Garden extends from the rotunda on the Avenida Rodrigo Rodrigues, which features the Orient Arch, to the Avenida de Amizade. Located between highrise apartments, offices, and hotels, this green space provides a quiet retreat with tree-shaded benches and tables for chess players, landscaped shrubberies, bamboo groves, a playground, and a small cafe.
Address: Alameda Dr. Carlos d'Assumpção, Macau Opening hours: 6 a.m. - 11 p.m.
Park of Dr. Carlos d'Assumpção extends...
Park of Dr. Carlos d'Assumpção extends the green corridor from the Avenida de Amizade across the newly developed landfill area to the bronze Kun Iam statue which stands on its man-made island at the shoreline of the Outer Harbour. The park features secluded arbours, avenues of palm trees, a children's playground, fountains, and ornamental ponds. At the foot of the park is a promenade with views of the Outer Harbour, bridges, and Taipa Island.
Address: Alameda Dr. Carlos d'Assumpção, MacauOpening hours: 6 a.m. - 11 p.m.
The Arts Garden, containing flower gar...
The Arts Garden, containing flower gardens, fountains and statuary, runs alongside the Avenida de Amizade, bisecting Comendador Ho Yin Garden and Dr. Carlos d'Assumpcão Park and providing a pleasant, traffic-free walk back to the downtown area. From here you can walk to the Cultural Centre and Hotel Lisboa, always along the water front, enjoying a changing panorama of Macao.
Address: Avenida da Amizade Opening hours: The section between Praça de Ferreira do Amaral and Rua de Cantão: 24 hoursOther sections of the Garden: 6 a.m. - 11 p.m.
The European-style Flora Garden, situa...
The European-style Flora Garden, situated at the base of Guia Hill parallel to the Avenida Sid-nio Pais. It was formerly the grounds of the Flora Palace, an aristocratic Portuguese mansion. The stone gateway at the entrance was once the palace guardhouse. A straight pedestrian avenue, lined with tall palms and flowering shrubs, leads to the former site of the palace, now occupied by an aviary, a small zoo, and a tree-shaded refreshment patio. The garden also features formal flowerbeds and a stone pathway that winds upward, past small waterfalls and belvederes, to the top of Guia Hill, the highest point in Macao.
An easier route to the top of Guia Hill is via the cable car near the park gate. Visitors can gain a bird's-eye view of the garden and a panoramic perspective of the city.
Address: Avenida de Sidónio Pais, Macau Opening hours: Garden: 6 a.m. - 8:30 p.m. Cable Car: 8 a.m. – 6 p.m. (Closed on Monday, or on the following day instead if a public holiday or day of special permission for exemption from work falls on Monday) Cable car ticket price: Single Ticket - MOP2 Return Ticket - MOP3Special Concessionary Return Ticket - MOP2 (For children aged 12 or below and elderly people aged 65 or above)
Although situated in built-up, bustlin...
Although situated in built-up, bustling suburbs, this is a quiet retreat in the north of Macao, next to the New Protestant Cemetery. The name 'russa' comes from the Chinese word for a snail, which describes the small spiral path that winds up to the top of the hill. The garden has secluded benches much favoured by lovers, and an impressive concentration of many different tropical and European trees, all carefully labelled in Latin and Chinese. There is an excellent indoor/outdoor Portuguese restaurant in a garden near the entrance.
Address: between Estrada da Bela Vista and Estrada de Ferreira do Amaral, MacauOpening hours: 6 a.m. - 10 p.m.
The most Chinese of all of Macao's gar...
The most Chinese of all of Macao's gardens is the Lou Lim Ieoc Garden. It was built by a wealthy 19th century Chinese merchant, Lou Kau, and was inherited by his son Lou Lim Ieoc in 1906. When the family fortunes declined the garden fell into ruins, but it was eventually purchased and restored by the government and opened to the public in 1974.
The garden is modeled on those of Suzhou, the most famous of all Chinese classical gardens. Enclosed by a high wall, it is a miniaturized landscape with narrow paths winding through groves of bamboo and flowering bushes, under moulded concrete "mountains" to a large pond filled with golden carp and lotus flowers. A nine-turn bridge zigzags across the pond (according to legend, evil spirits can only move in straight lines) to a large pavilion combining Classical and Chinese architecture elements. There are frequent art and craft exhibitions in the pavilion, which also serves as an auditorium for recitals during the annual International Music Festival.
Address: No. 10 Estrada de Adolfo Loureiro, Macau Opening hours: 6 a.m. - 9 p.m.
Next to the pink and white St. Francis...
Next to the pink and white St. Francisco barracks and Military Club, the garden consists of flower beds between wide paths which lead up to a fine double stone staircase. On the upper level is a round tower built to honour the combatants of the First World War but now converted into Headquarters for the Association for the Handicapped. The garden is a favourite meeting place for students from nearby schools.
Address: Avenida da Praia Grande / Rua Nova à Guia, Macau Opening hours: 24 hours
At the north end of Macao, not far fro...
At the north end of Macao, not far from the old gate that marks the Macao S.A.R.'s border with China, is the Dr. Sun Yat Sen Municipal Park. Located next to the canal that forms part of the border, the park features an aviary, a Victorian-style greenhouse, winding walkways, flower gardens, a fung shui forest of trees which is believed to bring good luck, and a bronze sculpture called "Permanent Handshake", representing the friendship between Portugal and China. High points in the park offer good views of the Chinese Special Economic Zone of Zhuhai across the border. A swimming pool, a children's playground, and multi-purpose sports fields provide recreation.
Address: Avenida do Comendador Ho Yin, MacauOpening hours: 6 a.m. - 11 p.m.
Stone terraces lead from the busy aven...
Stone terraces lead from the busy avenue to the monument commemorating the Portuguese victory over the Dutch in 1622. Flower beds and stands of trees decorate the garden, which offers benches for footsore tourists and students from the school next door.
Address: Avenida de Sidónio Pais, MacauOpening hours: 24 hours
The Vasco da Gama Garden and the Victo...
The Vasco da Gama Garden and the Victory Garden were created at the end of the 19th century. They used to be part of a long avenue, the Avenida Vasco da Gama built in 1898, to comemorate the 400th anniversary of the arrival of the fleet of Vasco da Gama to India. Ficus rumphii trees were planted along this road, 500 meters long and 65 meters wide. These trees, some of them still in existence, gave a country look to this road.
In the Vasco da Gama garden, a bust of the Portuguese navigator, in 1911 work of sculptor Tomás da Costa, stands out. Recent renovations add freshness to the this place, a new lake in the shape of waves was placed in the lower level of the garden and a new fountain with waterspouts surround the bust of the portuguese navigator. This garden has an area of 5000 square metres.
Address: Rua de Ferreira do Amaral, Macau Opening hours: 24 hours
Mong Há Fort, situated on Mong Há Hill...
Mong Há Fort, situated on Mong Há Hill at the northern end of Macao, is a newer fortress, built in anticipation of a Chinese invasion following the Anglo-Chinese War in 1841. It was completed in 1866 and was in active service until the 1960's, when it was abandoned. Today the area has been turned into a park with flowerbeds, grassy slopes and walkways surrounding the old fortress walls. It provides a quiet refuge for people living in the nearby neighborhoods, and good views of the north end of the city.
Address: Avenida do Coronel Mesquita, MacauOpening hours: 24 hours
Next to the Church of Our Lady of Carm...
Next to the Church of Our Lady of Carmel on a hill overlooking the village of Taipa and the old Taipa Praia, the garden follows a formal European design. It has a vine-covered gazebo with fountains and stone benches, meticulously maintained flower beds and paths winding up to a small belvedere. From the park you can follow a zigzag walkway lined with low scalloped walls to the old praia, where one of a row of restored 1920s mansions is now the Taipa House Museum.
Address: Avenida de Carlos da Maia, TaipaOpening hours: 24 hours
Located across the street from the Par...
Located across the street from the ParknShop supermarket in the centre of Taipa's high-rise residential area, this walled garden is a modern interpretation of the classical Chinese garden, with traditional lotus ponds, winding bridges, and small pavilions, but it also incorporates a children's playground and a skating and scooter area.
Address: Rua de Évora, TaipaOpening hours: 6 a.m. - 10 p.m.
Situated in the wooded hills on the we...
Situated in the wooded hills on the west side of Coloane, this park is a popular place for family outings. The park covers an area of about 198,000m2, with various public facilities including the Macao Giant Panda Pavillion, the Macao Giant Panda Information Centre, the Natural and Agrarian Museum, a small zoo, a large walk-in aviary, gardens and children's playgrounds.
Address: Estrada de Seac Pai Van, ColoaneOpening hours: 8 a.m. - 6 p.m.
* Restoration and protection works of ...
* Restoration and protection works of the Statue of A-Ma will be carried out by the Cultural Affairs Bureau, starting from 29th of October, 2018, for a period of 70 days.
This park, high on Coloane Peak (170m), is reached by the Estrada do Alto de Coloane which begins just south of Seac Pai Van Park. The road leads first to the parking area for the newly-developed Recreational Fishing Zone, the Arboretum (which features more than 100 species of local and exotic trees), and the main access to the Coloane Hiking Trail. It continues on to the top of the Peak where there is another car park, the new Alto de Coloane picnic area, and the statue of the Goddess A-Ma. Visible from far out in the South China Sea, with a height of 19.99 metres (commemorating the year Macao once again became part of China), the statue crowns Coloane Peak. A-Ma is venerated by fishermen and sailors and therefore has always had a special significance in Macao.
Address: Estrada do Alto de Coloane, Coloane Opening hours: 24 hours
Hác-Sá Reservoir Country Park is locat...
Hác-Sá Reservoir Country Park is located in the southeast of Coloane Island. Here you can enjoy BBQ facilities, walking trails and canoeing. Splash about in a hired boat, and enjoy the beautiful scenery of the Jacaranda Kiosk and mountain forest area. Near the reservoir dam you can also find a plant maze, picnic and camping area, family trail and fitness trail.
Website: http://www.iacm.gov.mo/e/facility/introduction/park/Tel: +853 2882 7023Address: Estrada de Hac Sá, Coloane Opening hours: 24 hours
Mong Há Fort, situated on Mong Há Hill at the northern end of Macao, is a newer fortress, built in anticipation of a Chinese invasion following the Anglo-Chinese War in 1841. It was completed in 1866 and was in active service until the 1960′ s, when it was abandoned. Today the area has been turned into a park with flowerbeds, grassy slopes and walkways surrounding the old fortress walls. It provides a quiet refuge for people living in the nearby neighborhoods, and good views of the north end of the city.
Address: Avenida do Coronel Mesquita, Macau
Built 1629 on the site of a battery wh...
Built 1629 on the site of a battery which sank one of the warships' The Golias' of the Dutch invaders, the original fortress of S. Francisco stood at the end of old Praia Grande, facing the Taipa channel. Its armaments included a culverin, which could fire 35-pound iron shots a distance of one and a half miles (the width of the channel). Little more is known of the original fort or the convent of S. Francisco, which was attached to it.
Both fort and convent were demolished to make way for new barracks in 1864, to house the Battalion of the First Line, brought in as defence against a Chinese attack which never came. The barracks survive today as headquarters for the Security Forces and sections of the Police Force. They present an attractive, colonial facade of pink-washed stone with white trim. Inside are offices and meeting rooms around a flag-stoned courtyard, in the spacious lobby are display cases filled with old prints and pictures of the previous fort and convent, a collection of old weapons and other.
Address: Rua de Santa Clara
Opening hours: Fortress: 9 a.m. - 6 p.m. Chapel: 10 a.m. - 6 p.m., no admission after 5:30 p.m. (no photographs allowed)Lighthouse: not open to the public
Nestled against a hill side in Seac Pa...
Nestled against a hill side in Seac Pai Van Park in Coloane in a fan-shaped layout of about 3,000m2, Macao Giant Panda Pavilion is designed to take advantage of combining the terrain’s natural undulations with the architectural characteristics.
The pavilion comprises two 330m2 indoor activity quarters and a 600m2 outdoor yard for the inhabitation of the giant panda and a 900m2 indoor exhibit area. Two viewing paths of different elevations align along the front edge of the fan-layout indoor activity area, accessible to two streams of visitors. Internal facilities include a logistics centre with panda dens, bamboo-washing and storage quarters, feed preparation room, feed warehouse, control centre and veterinarian clinic, etc.
Pavilion of Rare Animals is situated inside Seac Pai Van Park in Coloane and serves as a conservation site for rare animals. The exhibition area consists of 3 indoor and 2 outdoor activity areas to provide ample activity space for the red pandas. Many types of plants are planted in the activity areas to create an environment similar to the red pandas’ wild habitat. The temperature inside the pavilion is regulated to remain within 25°C to provide an ambient temperature that is most comfortable for the red pandas. Climbing facilities such as perches are also installed inside the activity areas for the red pandas to practise their climbing skills.
The Macao Giant Panda Information Centre and Macao Giant Panda Gift Shop are situated inside the park too. The Macao Giant Panda Information Centre is a two-story building featuring multifunctional video rooms, exhibition areas, reading corners and network interactive areas. Intended as a platform for promoting public understanding of giant panda, it also hosts, among other activities, exhibitions and interest classes on a regular basis, in addition to providing information about giant panda. Located at the main entrance to the Seac Pai Van Park, the Macao Giant Panda Gift Shop is dedicated to selling gifts and souvenirs related to giant panda. It offers a large collection of giant panda gifts for visiting residents and tourists to choose from, including soft toys, bags, clothes, stationery and household items, etc. Admission fee is needed for the Macao Giant Panda Pavilion and Pavilion of Rare Animals.
Opening hours:Macao Giant Panda Pavilion and Pavilion of Rare Animals - 10 a.m. to 1 p.m., 2 p.m. to 5 p.m. (last admission until 4:45 p.m.). Closed on Mondays (closed on the following day instead if a public holiday falls on Monday)Macao Giant Panda Information Centre - 10 a.m. - 5 p.m.Macao Giant Panda Gift Shop - 9:30 a.m. - 5:30 p.m.
Address: Macao Giant Panda Pavilion, Seac Pai Van ParkAdmission: MOP10. Free admission for children of 12 years old or under and seniors of 65 years old or above.Tel: +853 2888 0087 Website: http://www.macaupanda.org.mo
Opened on 19th December, 2001, Macau T...
Opened on 19th December, 2001, Macau Tower is 338 metres in height. It is an elegant construction offering magnificent panoramic views all over Macao and much of the Pearl River Delta from its observation deck and revolving restaurant, at the 223-metre level. There is the opportunity to walk around the outside of the tower, for instance "Skywalk X".
Besides the tower, there are a 4-floor Convention and Entertainment Centre, restaurants, cinema, a 2-level basement and an outdoor plaza.
Address: Largo da Torre de Macau Free entrance Tel: +853 2893 3339 Fax: +853 2896 0103 E-mail: firstname.lastname@example.orgWebsite: http://www.macautower.com.mo
Macau Fisherman's Wharf is a 133,000m&...
Macau Fisherman's Wharf is a 133,000m² park and the first-ever cultural, themed and creative attraction in the tourism industry of Macao. It is centrally located in the outer harbour and it is not purely a theme park, but also combines dining, shopping, entertainment, accommodation, convention and exhibition facilities in one single location which takes just a 5-minute walk from the Outer Harbour Ferry Terminal and Heliport.
Be it for business or pleasure, visitors are able to find a brand new experience in this entertainment complex.
Address: Avenida da Amizade e Avenida Dr. Sun Yat-Sen, MacauFree admissionTel: +853 8299 3300 Fax: +853 8299 3581E-mail: email@example.comWebsite: http://www.fishermanswharf.com.mo
Close to the world's tallest statue of...
Close to the world's tallest statue of the goddess A-Ma (or named Tin Hau) on the mountaintop on Macao's Coloane Island, A-Ma Cultural Village is a 7,000-sq. m. cultural complex which celebrates the legend of the Goddess of Seafarers. The village architecture mainly comprises a pavilion-style front gate, a carved marble altar, Tin Hau Palace, Dressing Hall along with Bell Tower and Drum Tower. The grand complex attracts A-Ma devotees and interested tourists alike for a visit. Nearby, Visitors can refresh themselves at the park next to the village, or follow the hiking trail up to the magnificent A-Ma Statue on hill top and enjoy a captivating view of the island.
Opening hours of Tin Hau Palace: 8 a.m to 6 p.m daily. There is shuttle bus service between the Façade at Estrada de Seac Pai Van (at the foot of the hill) and Tin Hau Palace in every 30 minutes.
Please visit website of A-Ma Cultural village for more information.
With the new underground passenger ter...
With the new underground passenger terminal, it is now more convenient for locals to travel to Zhuhai. Passengers at the underground bus terminal can reach the Border Gate Square through the linked escalator, elevator and stair case. 17 bus lines service the bus terminal with clear signboards and indications. Washrooms as well as public phones are also available at the underground bus terminal, while the taxi station is on the ground floor.
Erected in 1870, the European style Border Gate witnesses the development of Macao. The modernized Border Gate Square with fountains at the centre is surrounded by green plants. The blue tiles at the side walls together with the poem of the Portuguese Poet, Camoes depict the history of Macao.
The Border Gate and the Gongbei Checkpoint in Zhuhai open daily from 6 a.m. to 1 a.m.
Standing in Lotus Square next to the F...
Standing in Lotus Square next to the Forum, the large sculpture of "Lotus Flower In Full Bloom" presented by the State Council of China in 1999, marks the return of sovereignty of Macao. The sculpture, made of gilded bronze and weights 6.5 tons, is 6 meters high and the diameter of the flower is 3.6 meters at maximum. The major part is composed of a stem, petals and pistil, with a total of 16 components. The base of the flower consists of 23 pieces of red granite.The lotus flower, which is in full bloom, symbolizes the everlasting prosperity of Macao. There are three layers of red granite at the base, which are in the shape of lotus leaves, signifying the Macao Peninsula, Taipa Island and Coloane Island.
Address: Rua Luís Gonzaga Gomes
Located on the Outer Harbour, this sta...
Located on the Outer Harbour, this statue, dedicated to Goddess of Kun Iam (Goddess of Mercy) is 20 meters tall and made of special bronze. The dome shape base like a lotus flower, is an ecumenical centre where information is available on Buddhism, Taoism and Confucianism.Souvenirs and Cultural Institute publications are available for sale.Opening hours: from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. Closed on Fridays.Free admissionWesite: http://www.macaumuseum.gov.mo/w3ENG/w3MMabout/KuniamC.aspx
“Whimsical Sculpture”, a c...
“Whimsical Sculpture”, a curation of botanical artistry and topiary sculptures, is now on display at Grande Praça. The Aquarium located at the centre of Grande Praça is a must-see spectacle where trained divers feed hundreds of colorful fishes in the Aquarium.
Address: MGM MACAU Avenida Dr. Sun Yat Sen, NAPE, MacauTel: +853 8802 8888Fax: +853 8802 3333E-mail: firstname.lastname@example.orgWebsite: http://www.mgm.mo/en
Standing in a small park in front of t...
Standing in a small park in front of the Royal Hotel, a heroic bust commemorates Vasco da Gama, the Portuguses explorer who discovered the sea route from Europe to India.
Address: Rua de Ferreira do Amaral
The bronze statue of Xian Xinghai is l...
The bronze statue of Xian Xinghai is located at the junction of Avenida Xian Xing Hai and Rua de Berlim.
Born in Macao, Xian Xinghai is regarded as the Chinese people's musician and the herald of modern Chinese music. The prolific musician composed many stunning agitato pieces, of which his Yellow River Cantata is one of the best-known. The bold and lively Yellow River Cantata is a paean expression of the firm and unyielding spirit of the Chinese to defend the homeland.
Address: Junction of Avenida Xian Xing Hai and Rua de Berlim
Contains letters, books and manuscript...
Contains letters, books and manuscripts pertaining to Portugal's exploration and Macao's relations with Europe, China, Japan, and Southeast Asia from a wide variety of governmental, civic, ecclesiastic and private sources. The most valuable have been put on microfilm, including 7500 items dating from 1587 to 1786.The archives are houses in one of the mansions in colonial style in Avenida de Conselheiro Ferreira de Almeida restored by the Macao Government which won the Pacific Area Travel Association's Heritage Award, in 1982.
Address: Avenida do Conselheiro Ferreira de Almeida
The Macau Mosque, constructed in the e...
The Macau Mosque, constructed in the early 1980s, is situated in a pleasant, historic quarter overlooking the reservoir and Outer Harbour Ferry Terminal. It is believed that the Macau Mosque was built by Muslims serving with the Portuguese army recruited from regions such as Goa and Mumbai. The adjacent cemetery is another place of historic interest, and serves as the last resting place of several Parsi and Muslims of various origin. These graves - some of which are over a hundred years old - further attest Macao's claims to multicultural tolerance throughout the centuries, and is historic proof of the Islamic link to the territory.
Address: Ramal dos Mouros
Created and directed by Franco Dragone...
Created and directed by Franco Dragone, the USD250 million production 'The House of Dancing Water' is a breathtaking water-based show that brilliantly expresses the Asian culture on stage. This popular show - rooted in the ‘seven emotions’ of Chinese Confucian belief - features fantastic stage effects for the most extravagant live production ever staged in Asia.
Address: Dancing Water Theater at City of Dreams Estrada do Istmo, Cotai, MacauShow time: approximately 85 minutes, please see details on website.Tel: +853 88686688E-mail: email@example.comWebsite: http://www.thehouseofdancingwater.com
One of the most famous and enduring st...
One of the most famous and enduring stories told in Chinese folk-lore and one of the most dynamic characters in world literature. China Show Monkey King breaks new ground in interpreting the classic tale to appeal to a modern audience. Viewers will be enthralled by the sheer scale of the dance, acrobatics, drama, martial arts, magic and other thrilling Chinese elements. The show also features the most advanced 3D effects, LED screen projections, video mapping and full surround sound, together with creative lighting effects, choreography, music and spectacular, colourful costumes.
Address: Level 1, Sands Cotai Theatre, Estrada do Istmo, s/n, Cotai, Macao SARShow time: 8:00 p.m. - 9:20 p.m., Friday to Wednesday; Matinee shows are offered on holidaysTel: +853 8113 5488E-mail: firstname.lastname@example.orgWebsite: http://www.monkeyking.cn
Located at The Parisian Macao, Eiffel ...
Located at The Parisian Macao, Eiffel Tower is approximately 162m high with 2 observation decks on 7th and 37th floor. Visitors can take the elevator to reach the top in just 40 seconds and enjoy a picturesque view of Macao and Cotai Strip. Eiffel Tower will be lightening up at dusk and is an ideal backdrop for visitors to take a remarkable photo. Accompanying various lighting themes and audio, 20 spectacular light shows are illustrated on Eiffel Tower each day.
Address: The Parisian Macao, Estrada do Istmo, Lote 3, Cotai Strip, MacauTel: +853 8111 2768E-mail: email@example.comWebsite: https://www.parisianmacao.com
The SkyCab is the best way for tourist...
The SkyCab is the best way for tourists to enjoy a ride overlooking Cotai and the Performance Lake from 28m up. The SkyCab seats six guests per cab, moving clockwise around the lake. Majestic golden dragons “greet” the tourists with lighting effects as they pass the north and south sides of the lake while a custom-designed audio system describes the breathtaking vista, from the Performance Lake with its dancing fountains to the Cotai landscape beyond.
Address: COTAI, junto à Avenida da Nave Desportiva, MacauTel: +853 8889 8889E-mail: firstname.lastname@example.org For detailed information, please visit: http://www.wynnpalace.com/en/entertainment/skycab-cable-car
The Performance Lake - located in the ...
The Performance Lake - located in the open area in front of Wynn - features lofty plumes of water and shimmering fire which dance through the air to the strains of classical and popular music plus hit show tunes from Broadway.
To present this enchanting cornucopia of water, light, colour and fire, the Lake houses over 200 water nozzles and shooters capable of projecting 800,000 gallons of water into the air. This vibrant performance expresses a symphony of moods, rhythms and emotions for joyous, fascinating entertainment.
Address: Wynn, Rua Cidade de Sintra, NAPE, MacauShow Schedule: Sunday to Friday: 11:00 a.m. to 9:45 p.m., Saturday and eve of public holiday: 11:00 a.m. to 10:45 p.m. Each show lasts approximately 3 minutes and runs alternately at 15 minutes intervalsTel: +853 28889966E-mail: email@example.comFor detailed information, please visit: http://www.wynnmacau.com/en/shows/performance-lake
The iconic golden Tree of Prosperity -...
The iconic golden Tree of Prosperity - featuring over 2,000 branches and 98,000 leaves comprising 24-karat gold leaf and brass leaf - is a stunning symbol of auspiciousness. Designed to thrill and excite guests as they enter the Rotunda Atrium of Wynn, the Tree of Prosperity performance is a choreographic masterpiece of sculptural patterns, music, video and light. The centrepiece, which fills the atrium, depicts Chinese and Western astrological symbols rising from the floor in a climactic finale that transforms the tree into the vibrant colours of the four seasons.
Address: Wynn, Rua Cidade de Sintra, NAPE, MacauDuration: Approximately 7 minutesShow time: from 10:30 a.m. to midnight at one hour intervalsTel: +853 28889966E-mail: firstname.lastname@example.orgFor detailed information, please visit: http://www.wynnmacau.com/en/shows/tree-of-prosperity
Symbolizing vitality, good fortune and...
Symbolizing vitality, good fortune and well-being, the Dragon of Fortune dramatically combines traditional sculptural art, modern lighting and audio enhancements to stunning effect in the Rotunda atrium of Wynn. The Dragon - emerging from a rolling mist and rising to a height of 28 feet – features an animated head complete with glowing eyes and smoke billowing from its nostrils. The beautiful Lotus Blossom opens some 12 feet in diameter to produce an awe-inspiring crystal light effect.
Address: Wynn, Rua Cidade de Sintra, NAPE, MacauDuration: Approximately 4 minutesShow Time: from 10 a.m. to midnight at one hour intervalsTel: +853 28889966E-mail: email@example.comFor detailed information, please visit: http://www.wynnmacau.com/en/shows/dragon-of-fortune
The 3-metre tall Fortune Diamond locat...
The 3-metre tall Fortune Diamond located in the hotel lobby of Galaxy Macau is based on the resplendent plumes of the peacock. Rising from behind a waterfall and slowly sinking into a roulette-design fountain, the Fortune Diamond symbolizes abounding prosperity and good fortune.
Address: Galaxy Macau™, COTAI, MacauShow schedule: Sundays - Thursdays: 10 a.m. - 12 a.m. ; Fridays, Saturdays and Public Holidays: 10 a.m. - 2 a.m. at 30 minutes intervalsTel: +853 2888 0888E-mail: firstname.lastname@example.orgWebsite: http://www.galaxymacau.com
On the East Promenade of Galaxy Macau ...
On the East Promenade of Galaxy Macau stands an immense collection of Wishing Crystals. Designed by Jeremy Railton, these numerous coloured shards reach into the air to bestow multiple blessings upon visitors. Wave your hands by the crystals - and watch them pulse with light and music!
Address: Galaxy Macau™, COTAI, MacauTel: +853 2888 0888E-mail: email@example.comWebsite: http://www.galaxymacau.com
Located in St. Lazarus Parish and esta...
Located in St. Lazarus Parish and established in 2008, 10 Fantasia – resplendent with 2 exhibition halls and 10 showrooms – displays and promotes the products of Macao’s cultural, artistic and creative industries. The works of the primarily local artists and creative workers in the gallery are renewed monthly, with art courses and seminars a popular attraction. Art courses include scriptwriting, photography, video and movie production, sculpting, painting, etc. In addition, the art centre regularly organizes animation parties, role-play events, artist gatherings and concerts.
Address: No. 10, Calçada da lgreja de S. LázaroOpening hours: 10:30 a.m. to 6:30 p.m. (Closed on Mondays)Free admissionTel: +853 2835 4582Website: http://www.10fantasia.com/index.php
St. Lazarus District has served as a b...
St. Lazarus District has served as a base for the development of Macao’s cultural and creative industries in recent years. Located in the district, Albergue SCM features a small courtyard and two century-old Portuguese buildings with yellow-hued walls. Two old camphor trees tower over the tranquil courtyard. Many of the poor and refugees lived here during World War II thus it came to be known as the ‘Shelter of the Poor’. It was also known as the ‘Old Ladies House’ as it once served as a refuge for elderly females. Today, its galleries house various local art and creative design exhibitions as well as a Portuguese restaurant. Albergue SCM also holds poetry-reading sessions and art seminars to enhance local art, cultural and creative development, imbuing this historical monument with a unique vitality.
Address: No. 8, Calçada da Igreja de S. LázaroTel: +853 2852 2550 / 2852 3205E-mail: firstname.lastname@example.org
This non-profit organization is a cent...
This non-profit organization is a centre for local creative industries developed and managed by the Institute of European Studies of Macao, with the primary task of assisting local creative industries enhance their profile and potential value. Located on the ground floor of the Macao Cultural Centre, it provides space and a platform for art and displays from diverse creative industries; namely, advertising, architecture, crafts, design, fashion design, film and video, interactive leisure software, music, the performing arts, publishing, computer software and application development, as well as visual arts.
Address: G/F Macau Cultural Centre Building, Xian Xing Hai AvenueOpening Hours: 2:00 p.m. to 7:00 p.m. (Closed on Sundays)Free AdmissionTel: +853 2875 3282Website: http://www.creativemacau.org.mo/
Ponte 9 is a cross-disciplinary and cr...
Ponte 9 is a cross-disciplinary and cross-cultural cluster for creative industries open to the city. It houses a set of complementary companies and startups in the areas of design, architecture, urban planning, fabrication, video and events production.
Standing in a pier building, Ponte 9 equipped with a gallery space, a multifunctional area for conferences / lectures / workshops, offices, co-working area, rooftop, and a fabrication lab for prototyping and product design manufacturing. It hosts exhibitions, conferences, lectures, workshops and activities, with the mission of promoting urban culture and providing an inspiring and synergetic ecosystem for startups and young professionals.
Address: R. Lorchas Ponte nº 9, 3/F, MacauOpening hours: 9:00 a.m. to 6:30 p.m. (closed on weekends, unless there are events running)Free admission Email: email@example.com Tel: +853 2871 5770Where to park: Sofitel Macau at Ponte 16 / Pak Kong public car parkWebsite: http://www.ponte9.comFacebook: https://www.facebook.com/ponte9creativeplatformInstagram: https://www.instagram.com/ponte9creativeplatform
Source: Ponte 9
Planet J Theme Park is a live-action r...
Planet J Theme Park is a live-action role-playing (LARP) theme park, covering approximately 9,300 square metres. It houses eight gaming zones with more than 200 games, including AR & VR games. Planet J is suitable for all age groups. Either individually or in groups, participants are challenged to interact or battle either with other Planet J visitors or the theme park’s resident characters, in order to advance in the games. Visitors need to maximise dexterity, intelligence, logical thinking and body coordination to overcome the various challenges and quests presented to them.
Address: Shop 3009, Level 3, Sands Cotai Central, Taipa, Macau (Next to the food court) Opening hours: 10 a.m. - 7 p.m. Tel: +853 2875-0800 E-mail: firstname.lastname@example.org Website: http://www.planetj.com
Photo: Planet J (Macau) Ltd.
Occupying an area of 32,000 square fee...
Occupying an area of 32,000 square feet, the Warner Bros. Fun Zone is a mega indoor playground themed around characters from Warner Bros., DC Comics, Hanna-Barbera Productions and Looney Tunes entertainment franchises. Kids and their families can enjoy their play time in the zone packed with interactive games and rides and bring home an unforgettable fun experience.
Address: Level 3, Studio City, Estrada do Istmo, Cotai, Macau Opening hours: 10 a.m. to 7 p.m. Ticket Hotline: +853 8868 6767Toll free: Mainland China 400 616 3120 / Hong Kong 800 900 783 / Taiwan 008 0187 6037 E-mail: email@example.com Website: http://www.studiocity-macau.com
Situated inside the Venetian Hotel, th...
Situated inside the Venetian Hotel, this 836 square-metre children's playground features a 6-metre-high multi-climbing facility with a free fall slide, rainbow slides, a V-Net bridge, over and under barriers, zig-zag net climbers and more.
Teenagers can get on the computers to access the internet, play video games or air hockey. And for those celebrating a birthday, the holidays or any other special occasion, kids of all ages can throw their own parties in the themed party rooms at Qube.
Address: Level 5 via hotel south suites elevator (Hotel Guest access); Access via Grand Canal Shoppes (Level 3) at San Luca Canal, next to shop 2610 (Day Visitor access)Opening hours: 9.30 a.m. - 9.30 p.m.Tel: +853 81188890 / +853 81188891E-mail: firstname.lastname@example.orgWebsite: http://www.venetianmacao.com/macau-activities/kids-at-venetian.html
In partnership with Warner Bros. and D...
In partnership with Warner Bros. and DC Entertainment, ‘Batman Dark Flight’ is the world’s first flight simulation ride themed around DC Comics Super Hero “Batman” with the intellectual property franchise. Immersed in the flying theater, adventure-seekers can virtually soar over Gotham City with Batman through the action-packed storyline. The 4D motion ride promises a thrilling experience.
Address: Level 2, Studio City, Estrada do Istmo, Cotai, Macau Opening hours: 12 p.m. to 8 p.m. (Mondays to Fridays); 11 a.m. to 9 p.m. (Saturdays, Sundays and Public Holidays) Duration: Approximately 15 minutes Ticket Hotline: +853 8868 6767 Toll free: Mainland China 400 616 3120 / Hong Kong 800 900 783 / Taiwan 008 0187 6037 E-mail: email@example.com Website: http://www.studiocity-macau.com
Conquer Macao’s highest summit, at 338...
Conquer Macao’s highest summit, at 338 metres, and stand atop a man-made tower by climbing 100 metres up the mast’s vertical ladder.
Or freefall from the World’s Highest Bungy Jump at speeds of up to 200km/h for the ultimate rush! Plunging from a platform 233m high, challengers will experience freefall for an adrenalin-pumping 4-5 seconds . . .
SkyJump utilizes the technology of ‘Fan Descenders’ to enable daredevils to fly through the air at 75km/h, without rebounding or inverting, before decelerating to a comfortable landing speed upon reaching the ground.
Skywalk X is a thrilling walk around the main outer rim of the tower, 233 metres above ground. Safety is guaranteed by a world-first overhead rail system . . . but there’s no hand rail!
For enquiries and bookings, please call: +853 8988 8656For details, please visit the website of Macau Tower: http://www.macautower.com.mo
Suspended between the twin hotel tower...
Suspended between the twin hotel towers of Studio City at a height of 130 meters, the Golden Reel is the world’s first and Asia’s highest figure-8 Ferris wheel. It features 17 “Steampunk”-themed cabins, each accommodating up to 10 passengers on a memorable ride around the uniquely-shaped figure-8 track. Once aboard, you can admire the breathtaking views of the city in different angles.
Address (Box Office): Level 3, Studio City, Estrada do Istmo, Cotai, MacauOpening hours: 11 a.m. to 9 p.m. (Mondays to Fridays); 10 a.m. to 10 p.m. (Saturdays, Sundays and Public Holidays)Ticket Hotline: +853 8868 6767Toll free: Mainland China 400 616 3120 / Hong Kong 800 900 783 / Taiwan 008 0187 6037E-mail: firstname.lastname@example.orgWebsite: http://www.studiocity-macau.com
The Guia Hill dominates the Macao peni...
The Guia Hill dominates the Macao peninsula and its top offers the best landscape views in town, namely the Pearl River and the surrounding islands. If you go in through the Flora Garden Gate (Avenida Sidónio Pais), you will find a Cable car, which will help to go up, besides offering you a panoramic view over the hill.
Address: Avenida Sidónio PaisCable car opening hours: 8 a.m. – 6 p.m. (Closed on Monday, or on the following day instead if a public holiday or day of special permission for exemption from work falls on Monday) Cable car ticket price: Single Ticket - MOP2 Return Ticket - MOP3Special Concessionary Return Ticket - MOP2 (For children aged 12 or below and elderly people aged 65 or above)
Hác-Sá Reservoir Country...
Hác-Sá Reservoir Country Park is located in the southeast of Coloane Island. Here you can enjoy BBQ facilities, walking trails and canoeing. Splash about in a hired boat, and enjoy the beautiful scenery of the Jacaranda Kiosk and mountain forest area. Near the reservoir dam you can also find a plant maze, picnic and camping area, family trail and fitness trail.
For more information, please visit: http://www.iacm.gov.mo/e/facility/introduction/park/ or contact Civic and Municipal Affairs Bureau at Tel: +853 2882 7023.
MACAO GOVERNMENT TOURISM OFFICEAddress: Alameda Dr. Carlos d'Assumpção, n.os 335-341, Edifício "Hot Line", 12º andar, Macauhttp://www.macaotourism.gov.mo e-mail: email@example.comTel: +853 2831 5566 | Fax: +853 2851 0104 | Tourism Hotline: +853 2833 3000Copyright ©2018 MGTO. All rights reserved | Terms & Conditions | Privacy Statement | Performance Pledge